Denon 1920 problem

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by bluecupra, Oct 7, 2005.

  1. bluecupra

    bluecupra
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    Yesterday i bought an Denon 1920 DVD player. The image quality at 720p is really amazing. The only problem is that when i want to change disk the dvd player shuts it's self off. I have to disconnect the mains, wait 10 seconds and put the power back on. When i change the HDMI setting to 480 (570p) there's no problem. When the movie is playing and i press the HDMI button to 720p or 1080i the image is shown. Wy can't the DVD player just play it from the beginning instead of having to select HDMI mode every time you switch movie,...

    Jeffrey

    p.s.

    The DVD player is connected to an Hitachi 42PD7200
     
  2. wodir

    wodir
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have that problem, HDMI setting at 720p. No problem changing discs, no shutting down, hdmi stays active, even after power off
     
  3. bluecupra

    bluecupra
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also nearly every disc i put in the player suffers from juttering or even stops playing... What could be the cause of this problem. Looks like an faulty DVD player :mad:

    Jeffrey
     
  4. bluecupra

    bluecupra
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Today i have taken the player back to the store where i bought it. They tested it and found it to be ok. They supplied me with another one wich works fine. Both problems i had are gone now. Watched Gladiator and Saving Private Ryan tonight. Absolutely fabulous picture on my Hitachi 7200.

    For the money i think you can't find an better player :thumbsup:

    Jeffrey
     
  5. Repton

    Repton
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +135
    I've also got my Denon 1920 DVD player (multi-region) connected to my Hitachi 42PD7200 via HDMI and so far have not experienced any problems. The picture via 720p is sublime! The contrast level have improved considerably via HDMI, compared to my old Toshiba 520E via component, and that is saying something for the Hitachi 42PD7200.

    The DENON 1920 with HITACHI 42PD7200 is an awesome combination, for the money.
     
  6. crossy

    crossy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have just bought the above mentioned dvd player and now have hdmi to hdmi leads connected to my toshiba 32wl56 but after watching first dvd i am a bit disappointed with picture any help in changing the appropriate settings for both would be welcome, the denon book comes packed with info but i need to know i have set it up properly. regards
     
  7. Repton

    Repton
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +135
    Have you had a decent picture on your display before you hooked up your Denon?

    On my player I have selected, HDMI select YCbCR, HDMI Pic Enhanced, TV Aspect 16:9 WIDE,
    Bright = 0 , Cont = +2, Color = 0 , Gamma = +2, Sharp = 0, Brightness = 0.

    Also on my plasma I have spent days tweaking the settings, everything is perfect to my eyes and living room environment.
    Remember, settings are done according to your viewing environment.
     
  8. bluecupra

    bluecupra
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    Have you bought your player region free or did you do it yourself?

    Jeffrey
     
  9. Repton

    Repton
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +135
    I had to wait an extra 2 weeks for them to modify it for multi-region. They were waiting for a disk to come out and I had a choice of either getting the player earlier for region 2 only or wait until they've performed the upgrade.
     
  10. bluecupra

    bluecupra
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you got the disc witch they used to make it region free? Or did they do it for you?

    Jeffrey
     
  11. Spacedog

    Spacedog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all. I have a Denon 1920 ordered and I also would like to know how to make region free. Eomer what kind of disc is the one you said you used?? Can you also hack the Denon 1920 through a remote control code for example?? Thanks!
     
  12. Barzo

    Barzo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,677
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +422
    Anyone know where you can find the manual for this online? V.interested, if only because it could replace both Panny s97 and Pioneer 575 with one box, hopefully providing the strengths of both (excellent HDMI upscaling a la Panny s97, and DIVX and SACD/DVD-A playback like the 575).
     
  13. crossy

    crossy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    bought it from petertyson.co.uk and it came last week multi region ready as most of my discs are region 1 and i do get a very good picture with my lcd.
     
  14. sallyann

    sallyann
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    www.denon.com
     
  15. butlerpeter

    butlerpeter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    hmm,

    I bought mine from petertyson but was told that they hadn't had the multiregion firmware from Denon yet but would send me an update cd when they got it in the next couple of weeks.

    Anyone else in a similar position?
     
  16. Repton

    Repton
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +135
    Got mine done by AVLand. Not sure about remote hack though.
    But then I could have saved £50 by purchasing it from Peter tyson! :mad:
     
  17. hillster

    hillster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +29
    Me too, spoke to Peter Tyson last Wednesday and was told it should arrive this week.
     
  18. butlerpeter

    butlerpeter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Ah, good stuff.

    Might give them a ring today or tomorrow and see if there's any update.
     
  19. butlerpeter

    butlerpeter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Well I did just phone PeterTyson and they said they've had the firmware arrive today so are in the process of copying and mailing out the discs.

    So the update should arrive in the next few days or so for those that are waiting.
     
  20. bluecupra

    bluecupra
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When the disc arrives could you maybe post in somewhere on the Internet?

    That would make me and alot of other people very happy :clap: :thumbsup:

    Jeffrey
     
  21. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    Indeed, I feel a lot more confident about buying a 1920 if the firmware upgrade is in circulation and not having a R2 only player for gods know how long:)
     
  22. Ice Master

    Ice Master
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been after this dvd player for a while and been waiting for the multi-region disk to come through, as of yet im not sure if they have it. Im gonna get myn from www.weymouthhifi.co.uk for £200 inc multi-region and free delivery.
     
  23. wackyraces

    wackyraces
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +16
    Just bought mine from Weymouth Hifi. Multi-region and RCE compatible for £200 inc delivery. Should arrive today. As soon as I get it setup, I shall report back on the quality of service and the multi-region capabilities. Looks a superb buy for the money on paper.
     
  24. Repton

    Repton
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +135
    It is a superb player for the money, I have only been using it via HDMI with 720p scaling and the image is sharp and black levels superb.
     
  25. DaveAnderson

    DaveAnderson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can any owners comment on the audio quality of this player. I understand its good...but just how good?

    Also, daft question...whats the best way to connect this to my pioneer receiver, optical or coaxial?

    Thanks...Dave
     
  26. machinehead

    machinehead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenock
    Ratings:
    +12
    optical or coax it will not make any difference.either will do
     
  27. Spacedog

    Spacedog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    optical is only a better option if you have to use very long cables because it avoids any signal loss. for normal shorter cables (say 1 to 5 meters) you can use coaxial.
     
  28. Repton

    Repton
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +135
    Audio quality is good, but I don't hear a significant improvement from my old DVD player - Toshiba 520E. Maybe I need a better amp. I'm saving up for a Yamaha RXV4600! and MJ Acoustics REF 200 sub in satin silver!
     
  29. DaveAnderson

    DaveAnderson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your replies guys

    ...I know this is stretching things, but I'm looking for a great audio and video player for the £200 mark (I can see you sniggering!). I will have to see if I can listen to this somewhere, I thought this might have been the answer...might still be
    Dave
     
  30. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,060
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +963
    Hi,

    Don't know if you're interested or not, but there's a guy desparate to sell one here

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     

Share This Page

Loading...