DENON 1920 or SONY RDR-HXD910

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by montygew, Mar 16, 2006.

  1. montygew

    montygew
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    durham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, I'm undecided whether to buy a DENON 1920 DVD player or a SONY RDR-HXD910 DVD recorder.
    Which would give the best DVD playback quality.I will also want to use it for HD
    & upscale 575 to 720p,
    Thanks.
     
  2. MJG1985

    MJG1985
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Harlow, Essex
    Ratings:
    +25
    have seen the sony on DVD playback, picture was on Pioneer 436xde. Very very good quality. also, the recording side is dead easy to use.
     
  3. montygew

    montygew
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    durham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks MJG1985, it's either get a denon 1920 to keep me going until HD DVD arrives or get the sony 910. I am worried the sony 910 will soon be outperformed
    in the DVD playback mode by cheaper HD players.
     
  4. lazyhazysparky

    lazyhazysparky
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had the Sony for 3 mths - the Upscaled DVD playback on my Panny pv500 is superb - the quality of the HDD recordings will also knock your socks off

    Get one now - they are a 10/10 piece of AV Kit

    sparky...:hiya:
     
  5. montygew

    montygew
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    durham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks lazyhazysparky i think i'll do what you suggest & get the Sony 910.
     
  6. kourosh

    kourosh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    14,910
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    dont forget the sony also upscales the freeview picture through hdmi;)
     
  7. montygew

    montygew
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    durham
    Ratings:
    +2
    i am on sky tv so i am not worried about the freeview upscaling.
    I will be using the pioneer xde436 plasma tv .
     

Share This Page

Loading...