1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 1920 in store

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by gm0x45, Sep 22, 2005.

  1. gm0x45

    gm0x45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just received and test it, and so far, so good...but I start very low. I was using an Infocus 4805 and the S-video of my old JVC DVD player. Now, still using the infocus, but connecting via HDMI of my Denon 1920. I'm using 1080i resolution and it is just great. Test with xXx next level (rubbish movie actually), postcard pictures all time. Now it looks like I have a problem not reported on the US AVforum, the player power off after 45 min. It might be just a default on my unit, but I like to know if people have seen similar problem. But still happy.
     
  2. rooo

    rooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    The player powers off during playback?

    I doubt this would be a 'feature', more likely overheating, ot another fault.
     
  3. pingu

    pingu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Why are you using 1080i? the Infocus 4805 only has 480 lines, so will have to downscale the upscaled output!

    I think you'd be better off setting the output to 480p/576p.

    Just a thought. :)
     
  4. BeelzebubUK

    BeelzebubUK
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +24
    Could you clarify the 45 minute power off. Was it during playback or you just had it switched on doing nothing ?

    May I ask where from and how much as I'm very interested in ordering one in the next week or so. Thanks.
     
  5. gm0x45

    gm0x45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem occurs during playback. The device went completely dead. I know there was an issue with the remote control/ power off/ hdmi connection but mine seems to be different. I got it from HiFi Worcester...well in Worcester. Probably available on the web as well now.
     
  6. rooo

    rooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've ordered one from Peter Tyson, for £199.90, should get it tomorrow.
     
  7. matrixsc

    matrixsc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    So is anyone else having this problem ???
    Wanting to know as i've been waiting for this player to come so i can buy it myself.
     
  8. sallyann

    sallyann
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ordered mine from Weymouth HI-Fi yesterday (also £199) arrived this morning.
    Connect it up via HDMI to my LCD TV and coax to my av amp. Haven't played with any of the settings yet but it certainly looks and sounds good to me.

    Left it playing a DVD for a couple of hours - no sign of it switching itself off yet!
     
  9. matrixsc

    matrixsc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    Keep us posted please. As i do want one of these but i'd prefer not have one that keeps powering off :)
     
  10. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I'm in the market for a new DVD player and this looks better than most, I assume it can be bought multi-region or at least hackable?
     
  11. matrixsc

    matrixsc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    It can be bought multi-region yes.
     
  12. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    Excellent, I'll start looking online and the few AV dealers in Nottingham:)
     
  13. Herb

    Herb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    has anyone seen/heard of a multi-region hack for the 1920 yet?

    Sallyann - is yours multiregion from Weymouth HiFi?
     
  14. rooo

    rooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    The hack is on a DVD which although not available yet, your dealer should be able to send you when its out.

    I've just watched The Village all the way through tonight with no problems of turning off. Picture quality, even with a temporary cheapo 10m S-Video cable, is better than my old Sony 525 - and the sound seems crisper also. I'm well pleased so far.

    As soon as I get a working HDMI cable I will comment further, because that was the main reason for my upgrade to the 1920.
     
  15. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    A good one too!...PJ :)
     
  16. gm0x45

    gm0x45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe I should be glad for you, and Denon, that I'm the only one to have a problem with this power off. I will have to see if it is a problem of my socket by moving to a different place.
     
  17. StefanoC

    StefanoC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it come with a HDMI cable?
     
  18. rooo

    rooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    No - just a composite video cable.
     
  19. sallyann

    sallyann
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried a component connection using cheap basic phono cables and first impressions are that component output is better than HDMI. Using PIP on my TV it is possible to view both inputs side by side and component does look better.

    No signs of it powering itself off yet.
     
  20. sallyann

    sallyann
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a thought - its not an overheating problem is it. Do you have the player sat on top of a hot amplifier or other unit?
     
  21. zoro

    zoro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Denon 1920, is imho, worst build quality I have seen on $350 player!
     
  22. Herb

    Herb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sallyann - your comments on PQ are very interesting, seeing as i'm deliberating as to whether it is worth spending the extra £100 or so to get a hdmi player when picture quality over component seems so strong. Have you been able to test any other players using component to compare?
     
  23. rooo

    rooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Build quality seems fine to me - buttons all work positively and solidly, and it all seems well put together. Although the machine is quite light, I think that is a sign of the times more than anything.

    It is slightly better built than my old Sony 525, so I have no complaints about build.
     
  24. yellowpostit

    yellowpostit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know if it does 'blacker than black'?
     
  25. Goone

    Goone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk,london
    Ratings:
    +1
    Impressed with the pic quality and it has great sound aswell.Build quality feels cheap but then again it doesnt cost much,be aware that the stop resume bug is present in the uk model ie if you leave a disc on resume then power of you wont be able to switch the player back on until unplugging from the mains.btw no black crush thru hdmi and the pic was near enuff as good as a htpc but dont get one if you will be using it for a lot of divx/xvid playback imho the xbox is the king of divx still.
     
  26. Herb

    Herb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Goone, have you tested it using component?
     
  27. Goone

    Goone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk,london
    Ratings:
    +1
    will get round to it soon,just testing sound with it at the moment,the 1920 has suprised me with the quality of its audio playback and mp3 sounds really good, shame it does not play mp3 dvd.
     
  28. gm0x45

    gm0x45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well the power off problem must be my unit, as it die out yesterday. Nothing is coming out of the Denon anymore, so it's back to the shop tomorrow. Thanks for suggested overheat problem, but it was just standing on its own on a table, no amplifier on top or below, lot of cooling around. I found the plug very cheap, look like an europeen plug melted into one bristish standard one. Won't be surprised if there is a faulty connection in it.
     
  29. wonderboy

    wonderboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
  30. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    can HDCP be disabled?
     

Share This Page

Loading...