1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 1920 HDMI - DVI

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by nsd3, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. nsd3

    nsd3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd like to replace my current DVD player with the Denon DVD1920. I use a Sony VPL-HS10 LCD projector as the primary display source for my home cinema. The projector only has a DVI interface. If I connect the Denon DVD-1920 to the Sony VPL-HS10 projector via a suitable HDMI-DVI cable, will I actually get a picture? I'm concerned the lack of DHCP will cause the player to refuse the connection!

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    If your projector is not HDCP compliant, you will definately not get a picture for copy protected material. I don't know what the Denon will do for non copy protected discs - some use HDCP irrespective of the copy protect flag bit. Irrespective of the copy protect bit on the disc, you may get parts of the disc like trailers and the menu showing, but not the main feature.

    Probably not what you want to hear.

    -Ian
     
  3. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,845
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +828
    Hi Ian,

    Are you sure about this?

    I thought that DVD protection was Macrovision and not HDCP.

    Interested to hear your answer.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  4. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Macrovision is the copy protection used on analogue outputs and HDCP is used on the digital connections.

    Mark.
     
  5. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,845
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +828
    Yes, of course you're correct.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  6. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    The copy protect flag triggers the copy protection mechanism in the player. It is up to the player what copy protection it uses. As Mark says, its normally macrovision for analogue and HDCP for digital. This is why discs made before HDCP was invented still trigger HDCP and unlicensed/hacked DVD players don't output HDCP/macrovision - they don't remove HDCP/macrovision, they just ignore the state of the copy protect flag and don't add HDCP/macrovision in the first place.
     
  7. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,845
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +828
    Yes, I understand - thanks for that.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  8. DaMacFunkin

    DaMacFunkin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    You can get a converter box from www.keene.co.uk that will transfer HDMI to DVI-A or RGBHV (15 pin d-sub) and also emulates HDCP for non compliant panels.
     
  9. ozdvduser

    ozdvduser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    Both the 1920 & HS10 are HDCP compliant, you'll have no problems.
     
  10. nsd3

    nsd3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How did you deternine the HC10 is HDCP compliant? I looked through the projector manual and it isn't mentioned once.
     
  11. ozdvduser

    ozdvduser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's not mentioned in the manal, but rest assured it is HDCP compliant. I have a Denon 2910 (HDCP compliant) connected via DVI-D and if the HS10 was not HDCP compliant then there would be no picture as the handshake between them would fail. Denon players require that for DVI/HDMI output, the receiving device be HDCP complaint.
     
  12. nsd3

    nsd3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that. I'll go ahead and sort out buying the player. Just one final question, how have you found the picture quality when using the DVI connection, any improvement, and what about the upscaling features on the player, and discernable difference?
     
  13. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=258741
     
  14. ozdvduser

    ozdvduser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    Via DVI, one word STUNNING - crisp, clear, and life like. Just make sure you use AVIA or DVE to calibrate the HS10 for the DVI input from the 2910 - Normal Black (not Enhanced) with 0IRE, left everything else in the setup as from the factory, but I did play around a bit to see how everything affected PQ.
    Just make sure you are running firmware 6720-A or later, there is a MultiRegion version that I posted the link to over at videohelp.com

    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks.php?dvdplayer=2910&hits=50&Search=Search
     
  15. Daddy k

    Daddy k
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,044
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345
    sorry to sort of hi jack this forum but its along these lines ;)

    im prob going to be getting this dvd player as my xmas gift upgrading from my dvd player as listed in my sig.
    now i have an lg rz 42 px11
    i would like to connect ideally via the dvi connection, does anyone know if these 2 will work well together using this connection?
     

Share This Page

Loading...