Denon 1920 HDMI audio output

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Parmenion62, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. Parmenion62

    Parmenion62
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +79
    I noticed in the spec that the Denon 1920 has a HDMI audio output. Are there any receivers that take a HDMI audio input? Does the HDMI output include SACD and DVDA mulichannel music?
     
  2. ozdvduser

    ozdvduser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    As above
     
  3. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    A/V amps are at about £1K with HDMI, You can send DVD-A though HDMI but not SACD.
     
  4. Parmenion62

    Parmenion62
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +79
    Thanks for the info. I guess I will wait a while before upgrading my Denon 3802. A bit off topic but do you think HDMI will replace iLink for audio?
     
  5. bluecupra

    bluecupra
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I-link will stay next to HDMI. I think i have read somewhere I-link supports higher bandwith throughput then HDMI
     
  6. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +825
    HDMI version 1.2 will support SACD / DSD. This has only just been announced, so players, processors and amplifiers that will support it will become available over the next few months. Pricewise, from the top, first, of course. Then we won't need firewire/IEE1394/DenonLink/iLink any more.

    Not that we will actually need DSD over HDMI - iLink does exactly the same job, but with a different physical interface and a different copyright protection scheme. There would be little point in upgrading a player with iLink except to improve cross-manufacturer compatibility.

    iLink can support up to 200Mbps or 400Mbps depending on the manufacturer, but HDMI (A) will support 1.65 Gbps. HDMI is better standardised and will presumably take over from iLink.

    Nick
     
  7. marinecommando

    marinecommando
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Burnley
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am probably being dense - the ive just ordered an LCD with a hdmi slot and was looking to get this player because it has had some awesome reviews.

    I dont have an amp so if i plug the hdmi straight from my 1920 to my lcd will the cable carry both picture and sound like a scart would, or does it just take the picture like a dvi cable?
     
  8. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +871
    Yes, HDMI will also carry sound - that's the main differeence between DVI and HDMI.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  9. marinecommando

    marinecommando
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Burnley
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks :p
     
  10. clarkyb

    clarkyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    hdmi is slighly better than hdmi in pq terms, can you get sound through dvi??
    oh and sky hd will only be availiable through hdmi, but naturally you can get converters and stuff.
     
  11. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +871
    I believe that there is no difference in picture quality between DVI and HDMI (although may be wrong there) but no, you do not get sound through DVI.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  12. clarkyb

    clarkyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    :rolleyes: meant to say hdmi and dvi, and i heard hdmi is better than hdmi fractionally but not enough to make a substancial difference
     
  13. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +871
    In fact, Sky have stated that the first release of its HD box will also have component out, so you will not need HDMI to watch the HD programs at first but, no doubt, as time goes on, more and more programs will be transmitted with HDCP (High-bandwith Digital Content Protection) in which case the only way you'll be able to view will be via HDMI.

    As to "converters and stuff" I very much have my doubts but time will tell.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  14. Kalos Geros

    Kalos Geros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,093
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +136
    Oh my god, NO...HDMI is based on DVI and is purely digital - There is NO difference in quality because it's just 1s and 0s...both carry uncompressed video so there is no data loss WHATSOEVER...!!!
     
  15. clarkyb

    clarkyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    none of us have any idea about what we are talking about do we (or is it just me) :D there are so many false rumours about Sky hd, digital connections and the like and me being me believes most things i hear so... glad you cleared some things up :cool:
     
  16. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    lol.....there can be signal loss......if the signal isnt strong enough then not all the data gets through, this can happen for instance if the cable is too long, both HDMI and DVI are length limited unless you spend a fortune on heavily screened cables....you most likely will get blocking effect like you do on digital TV........the cheap cables are only good upto around 5m at most, especially DVI, after that u want the good stuff.....

    however most people will use short runs of cable, in which case it isnt so much of a problem, there shouldnt be any difference between HDMI and DVI then.....for me its a problem as i am using 10m, and tbh the component cable i bought outperforms the HDMI one and i think its the length.....i havnt had the chance to try using exact same but shorter versions of cable yet due to lack of funds, will do when i can......(altho obviously it could be the components differences as well, my DVD player might create a better picture by decoding the digital first than my PJ can by getting a digital signal and decoding it)
     
  17. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,573
    Hello all

    DVI and HDMI are both interconnect/connectivity standards - they don't guarantee anything about the quality of the video signal they are transporting; your HDMI cable is just as happy sending a duff signal as it is sending a very high quality signal.

    DVI started in the PC environment and was intended for short cable runs of Digital video only - HDMI is intended as a Multimedia standard and carries Video plus Audio (NOTE. Not all HDMI Input and Output sockets are fully Multimedia compliant some only carry the Digital Video signals).

    You can pass various video signal formats over DVI and HDMI connections so its no good saying HDMI is equal to or superior to DVI - you need to know what signal your actually passing along the cable; equally the type of Transmitter/Receiver chips used in your Source and Display device can and does have an affect on the image you see on screen.

    Also keep in mind that the Manufacturer of your Source or Display device may not intend the HDMI and or DVI Input to have equal billing - sometimes they lavish more cost/effort into one or other Input/Output.

    Its also worth noting the because of differences in how a Digital PC signal transmits a Video signal not all DVI Output/Input sockets handle an HDMI signal in the way you except - if the DVI socket is primarily intended for PC use you often have the point where Black should be Black in your video signal set incorrectly and end up with Grey Blacks.

    You can also have problems when mixing DVI and HDMI Input/Outputs where you have different vintage Transmitter/Receiver chips and have handshaking problems!

    See http://www.hdmi.org/consumer/faq.asp and http://www.siliconimage.com/products/ (for the techies)

    1's and 0's are just as easy to muck up as any Analogue signal :)

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  18. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    HDMI is compatible with DVI but it is not the same. Many of the differences give HDMI the potential for a better quality signal. For instance:

    DVI is 8 bit RGB 4:4:4. HDMI supports not only 8 bit RGB 4:4:4 but also 4:4:4, YCbCr or 4:2:2 YCbCr all at 8, 10 and 12 bits.

    With a pure HDMI-HDMI Link, there are some differences in the protocol. These are not used with DVI equipment in the chain. These differences are:

    HDMI supports a guard band in the data. The guard band is a fixed data pattern Guard Band designed to provide robust determination of the transition from the Control Period to the Data Period.

    HDMI also supports a data island. As well as carrying audio information, the data island carries auxiliary information such as HSYNC and VSYNC signals. The data island also contains additional error detection/correction information ad other information that may allow an HDMI device to be more robust or automatically configure itself in a more correct manner.


    So whilst DVI and HDMI can provide exactly the same picture quality, there is also the potential for HDMI to provide a much better one and in a more robust manner.

    It is also possible for a DVI equipped device to actually have some of the enhanced HDMI functionality. For exaqmple, I have heard of a DVI screen alegdly accepting YCbCr.
     

Share This Page

Loading...