Denon 1920 and 3806 - No sound without first turning TV on

T

tnotland

I am connecting my 1920 DVD player to my 3806 receiver using HDMI. The 3806 is connected to my monitor (Hitachi plasma) using a HDMI-DVI cable.

My problem is that when I try to play CDs on the 1920 I am not able to get any sound from the 3806 UNTIL I TURN ON MY MONITOR!!!! This is really frustrating as I don't feel like watching the Denon background just to listen to a CD.

It seems that the monitor tells the 3806 that "it is now time to start processing inputs" when I turn the monitor on. BUt on the display on the front of the 3806 it does not show that any signals are being received until I turn the monitor on, so I'm not sure what is happening really.

Have anybody else experienced this? Is there a setting that I've missed?

All help appreciated!

Cheers,
Tore

D

dmz

I currently have this problem also but I am a newbie so have probably made a school error

T

tnotland

The weird thing is that if I switch off the monitor, then the music keeps playing... So it does not need to be on for the 3806 to process the sound, but it needs to be on for the processing to start!

But try explaining that logic to the wife who might want to listen to a CD every now and then....

12 promises

WHAT OUTPUT ARE YOU USING?
D/LINK,ANALOGUE OR OPTICAL.
HAVE YOU RE-CHECKED YOUR MENU SETTINGS?:confused:
HAVE YOU RE-CHECKED YOUR CABLE TERMINALS?:confused:

T

tnotland

The output is HDMI.

I assume that the settings and cable terminals are all fine since the sound plays perfectly once I've switched the monitor on.

12 promises

Sorry But I Am More Confused Now.
The Cable Carrying The Sound Is What Please?
Have You Checked The Audio Input Setup?

T

tnotland

I use an HDMI cable to carry both audio and video signals from my Denon 1920 DVD player to my Denon 3806 Receiver.

12 promises

Can You Turn The Video Ouput Off On The Dvd Player?