1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

denon 1910 dvi will not fill the screen??

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by acabucca, Feb 17, 2005.

1. acabucca

acabucca
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello

I'm a novice to all this dvi lark.

I recieved my new sharp 37ga3 today and also bought the denon 1910 purely for dvi.

I am having problems with region 2 dvd, they only fill up half the screen???

If i use a region 1 disc it works fine.

Can someone please tell me whats going on??

I don't know if its the tv or the denon.

:lease:

2. McE

McE

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    are you in 720p mode on the player and "pc-digital" on the Sharp side?

I have the same problem with my HD745 but you have to select "AV-Digital" as DVI input and everything should be fine.

3. Loewe

Loewe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same TV (but version 4) and player, and I am dissappointed with DVI. Not much sharper on 720, even on better films, and 1080 is visible interlaced also on TV. Worst of all: The dark scenes are greenish via DVI. I use a simple PC-screen cable, but I don't think thats causing it. I think component (interlaced, the TV does a better progressive job than most players!) is a bit green too. But S-video is absolutely perfect though!

I have turned contrast up (to about +35 on TV and about +3 on player) and brightness down to -3 on player and 0 on TV to get the best blacks in a darkened room and gamma on player up to +4 to for detailed dark scenes while preserving the black. I think turning down the gamma helps a bit but then I loose darker details.

4/3-films get stretched via DVI, must use analog connection (auto format).

Jpegs on CD (cannot use DVD) are stunning on this player!