Denon 1909 Sky+ optical problem

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ade8161pan, Feb 10, 2009.

Tags:
  1. ade8161pan

    ade8161pan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, My 1909 is connected to my sky+ box using optical cable. When a Dolby Digital broadcast comes on the 1909 only outputs in stereo showing a stereo input. The sky box is set up for optical and DD but the 1909 wont pick it up. Any help would be great. Cheers Ade
     
  2. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +254
    Have you set the input on the amp correctly?

    Here is my setup if it helps:

    3-1 HDMI IN HDMI1
    Digital In OPT1
    Component In None
    Ipod Dock None

    3-2 Video Select Source
    Convert On

    3-3 Input Mode Digital
    Decode Mode Auto


    Mine if for a Sky HD box however, not sure how the Sky+ box differs.

    Regards,
     
  3. ade8161pan

    ade8161pan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Catmando, My settings were similar to yours so changed mine to be the same but no change. Thanks for reply. Cheers ade
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,247
    What mode is coming up on the front panel display of the 1909 (Dolby Digital, Direct)?
     
  5. ade8161pan

    ade8161pan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Jase, it says stereo. On the left it shows digital stereo as input.
     
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,247
    Are you definitely on a channel that's broadcasting in Dolby 5.1?

    For the stereo channels you can use Dolby PLII/PLIIx if you want all your speakers being used.
     
  7. ade8161pan

    ade8161pan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Tried it last night when film 4 had dolby digital movie on. The settings you said use i can only get IIx which seems to use 7 speakers but i have 5.
     
  8. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,247
    Film 4 only broadcast in stereo (checked last night). Only Sky Movies and the HD channels broadcast in Dolby 5.1.

    On my Denon PLIIx is only selectable if you have a 6.1/7.1 setup. It may just be that later models class Dolby PLII/PLIIx as one decoding mode. Either way, I personally prefer Dolby PLIIx to Stereo for Sky/Satellite TV.
     
  9. ade8161pan

    ade8161pan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just checked film 4 listings for today the film on at 7.15 tonight is dolby digital and 2 films this afternoon are dolby surround.
     
  10. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,247
    I'll check that out tonight. Must be a relatively new thing as it's always come up as a stereo signal on my Amp.
     
  11. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,247
  12. ade8161pan

    ade8161pan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Jase, I have been going by the guide so you could well be right. I dont have sky hd or sky movies so its been hard to find programs to check it out.
     
  13. dwhite

    dwhite
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    7,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Whitehaven
    Ratings:
    +1,805
    If you have only a Sky+ box and don't have Sky Movies, then there is no 5.1 available to you I'm afraid. FilmFour is always getting it wrong. I think the guy who does the EPG data for them must just look up IMDB and sees it was recorded in Dolby Digital :D, but its not related to what is actually broadcast.
     
  14. ade8161pan

    ade8161pan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi DWhite, many thanks for that. I will just have to use my blu-ray player a bit more!! Thanks also to Jase for your trying to get an answer. Cheers ade
     
  15. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    Remember that most stereo transmissions have old school Dolby Pro Logic. This has to be set manually though but on most multichannel films your rears should spring into life. However for dolby digital you need Sky+ or V+.
     

Share This Page

Loading...