1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 1906 OSD via Component Out?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by andrewtayloruk, Oct 16, 2005.

Tags:
  1. andrewtayloruk

    andrewtayloruk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi,

    I've currently got my Denon 1720 DVD player going from component out to the component in on my TV, unfortunatley, this means I have to use the awkward LCD menu on my 1906 receiver rather than the OSD.

    I tried connecting the DVD in to the receiver by svideo then connecting the receiver in to the TV via component (no svideo in the TV) as a test until I can buy another component cable but I get nothing output at all, not the OSD or the DVD picture.

    What am I missing, I couldn't find any menus which change the receiver output from composite to component (I checked the composite connection and that's fine, apart from being composite!)

    There's nothing in the manual which mentions it, I presumed it would just be automatic, it must be possible as why would there be a component out on the receiver at all.

    Thanks

    Andrew
     
  2. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,875
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,782
    The Denon component out is interlaced, not progressive. Can your TV accept interlaced component?
     
  3. andrewtayloruk

    andrewtayloruk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
    Ratings:
    +10
    Yes, in fact, it can't accept progessive.
     
  4. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    The AVR-1906 has no video upconverison to component, the OSD will only come out on S-Video and Composite.
     
  5. guvvie

    guvvie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +134
    I have connected 2 outputs from the amp. I use the component output for normal viewing and i also connected the svideo out to a svideo to scart adapter and switch to that input when i want to use the osd.
     
  6. andrewtayloruk

    andrewtayloruk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
    Ratings:
    +10
    okay, so, I can't take a signal from svideo and push it through component, but, if I buy another component cable, should the OSD pass through from component in to component out?

    Does that make sense?

    Thanks

    Andrew
     
  7. guvvie

    guvvie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +134
    Not quite sure what u mean. I connect ps2 component-component in on amp, dvd player component to component in on amp and sky+ rgb scart to a rgb scart to component converter to component in on amp. Then connect component out to tv. I will not get any osd doing it this way. That is why i connected the svideo out (on amp) to one of my scart sockets on the tv using a converter, then when i want to view the osd i switch the tv input to ext1 instead of the usual ext4.
    Any clearer?
     
  8. andrewtayloruk

    andrewtayloruk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
    Ratings:
    +10
    yes, crystal.

    Thanks
     
  9. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +241
    I hadn't realised that - I thought the 1906 passed through the component signal as it was?
     
  10. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,875
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,782
  11. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +241
  12. guvvie

    guvvie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +134
    It does do component switching mate. It just won't upconvert to a component signal. I bought one of these as i did not like the look of the svideo picture of my sky+ box.
     
  13. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to butt in guys but will I have a problem with this also?This is the gear:

    42PWD8
    Denon 1906
    Denon 1720
    NTL Box
    Sky Box
    JS Component Converter
    JS Scart Switcher
    RCA-VGA cable
     
  14. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +241
    I realise that it does component switching, but I was hoping it would pass through a progressive component signal rather than an interlaced one - like the JS box does.
     
  15. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +241
    Is it the JS RGB to YUV converter you have got, or the RGB to VGA?

    If it is the RGB to YUV you should be ok on the first issue. Run your NTL and Sky box into your JS SCART switcher, and the output from that into the JS RGB-YUV converter. Run the output from this into one of the component inputs on your 1906. The 1906 can then connect directly to the component input of your PWD8

    The 1720 can then take one of the other component inputs.

    In termas of the second issue, the advice on this thread suggests that the 1906's component output will only be interlaced.
     
  16. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,875
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,782
    I think it will passthrough a progessive signal.

    Look at this thread on a US forum:

    http://forums.audioholics.com/forums/showpost.php?p=82549&postcount=6

    QUOTE:
    "I've setup a Denon 1905 where we switch a 480P DVD player, 1080i HD cable box, and a 480i VCR with no problems."

    The 1906 cannot be too different to the 1905 can it?

    Switching Progressive just means you cannot get the OSD to work. I think!! :confused:
     
  17. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +241
    It is getting a bit confusing!

    I have got to wait until I move in a few weeks to get the 1906 set-up. I guess I will find out for sure then!
     
  18. guvvie

    guvvie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +134
    It does pass on a progressive component signal, I watch all my dvd's in progressive and some ps2 games too.
     
  19. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,875
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,782
    Yes, just to clarify:-

    The unit will switch both interlaced and progressive component signals. When up-conversion takes place from composite or S-VHS to component, or an on Screen Menu is generated for display, the component out is of the interlaced variety!

    So if you need to use your amp to switch between DVD progressive component to say SKY S-VHS up-converted to interlaced component, you just need to make sure your TV can accept both types of component signals on the same connection.
     
  20. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    If a progressive component signal comes in it passes it though, if an interlaced component signal comes in it passes it though.

    If you go in on Composite then it can upconvert to S-Video. And S-Video is passed though.

    The amps OSD is a 4:3 interlaced composite signal, hence it can only be viewed though the Composite and S-Video connections.
     
  21. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,875
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,782
    So that is different to the 3805 I have.

    The amp up-converts S-Video (and composite I guess) to interlaced component on which it then overlays the OSD when called upon. My Sony DVP-S7700 component out is not progressive, but the amp nicely overlays the OSD on this component signal.

    One slight bug bear is that although the OSD displays most of the Denons' options, the volume level does not get displayed when upping or lowering it. Odd.
     
  22. Teleport

    Teleport
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    But

    Won't it just pass through whatever signal is at the imputs?

    I ask as I am about to buy one of these and was planning to use it to switch a progressive signal from my DVD to Projector.

    Surely it's just acting as a switch as there's no up conversion, so whatever signal goes in should come out? Right?

    Also

    According to Denon.co.uk the 1906 will not up convert to Component. It only converts from composite to S-VID. I hear the US version will convert to component though.
     
  23. Teleport

    Teleport
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just set up my new AVR-1906 and can confirm it does indeed switch progressive component without any probs (NO UPSCALING FROM S-VIS/COMPOISITE THOU). My only gripe is that to use the OSD I have to use a composite lead between the monitor out phono on the back of the receiver and video in on the front of my TV. Got used to usinf the display on the front panel now. Having the setup menu visible on the component output would have been nice but probably would have messed with the conponent signal somehow.
    Great switching quality though (I was using a standard composite and Left & Right audio switcher previoulsy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...