Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Denon 1603 or equivalent?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Darren Blake, May 6, 2003.

Tags:
  1. Darren Blake

Darren Blake

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi all.

I've been hanging around in the plasma screens forum trying to get a handle on which one to buy. Just for background, I'm a newbie going from nought-to-home-cinema in a few weeks courtesy of a marriage breakup :-( and a remortgage :)

I was all set to buy a surround system AND a tuner box for my screen, when I realised that an AV reciever would do both jobs. Basically I have been looking at the Denon AVR1603 but I was wondering if you guys could suggest any alternatives in the same price range, with nice features - the kind of thing that doesn't leap out from the basic spec sheet.

I need:
    At least 4 video in connections. (SCART or S-video).
    At least 3 stereo phono in connections.
    1x digital audio connection (optical or coaxial).
    1x extra set of composite video / audio left/right phono sockets in the front panel.
    At least 5 speaker channels out + sub.
    At least 1 video out (obviously) either component or S-video.
    Dolby DTS / Dolby digital decoding.

Also, a "would like" is a 15 pin D-sub connector for hooking up my PC to the AV reciever, although I can pipe this straight through to the screen with a bit of extra wiring.

The 1603 seems to fit the bill (I really need to go and see one) but for example doesn't do the component out, and I'm not sure if all of the AV connectors are in the front or back panel.

Suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

*edit* model number corrected to 1603. The 1803 does have component out, and more than enough inputs for me!

2. mbbx0bbr

mbbx0bbr

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: