1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

denon 03 range

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by keyser, Nov 23, 2002.

Tags:
  1. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    What is the improvement in the 03 range from denon over the 02 one. I just saw a 1803, and it said dolbyprologic 2 dolby ex.. that´s just normal dp2 and dd ?
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    Quick rundown of the differences.

    1803 has 6 channels of amplification as against 5 for the 1802.
    Newer 32 bit Processor in the 1803 with DTS ES Discrete & Matrix decoding as well as Dolby EX decoding.

    Slight cosmetic changes as well.

    Bizarrely the 1803 loses its pre-outs for the FL, FR & Centre channels, its only got a sub pre-out. But it does get Component Video inputs & outputs instead, as well as an extra optical input.

    The 3803 will be the one to watch as that inherits some nifty bits from the A1SR. ;)
     
  3. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    What´s Dolby EX decoding? Does my 3802 have it.. will there come out 3803 anytime soon?
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    Your 3802 does have EX decoding but it´s shown as 6.1 Surround on the display. It was to do with a licensing problem with Dolby which is now sorted.

    The 3803 is due out early next year as far as I´m aware.
     
  5. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    How does the 3803 improve on the 3802, do you know that? There is nothing that the 02 doesn´t have ... decodes everything and has plenty of power for me.
     
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    The 3803 gets the newer Super Sharc Processor, Burr Brown 24/192 DAC´s in Dual configuration for each channel, Pure Direct Mode (uses 4 DAC´s per channel for 2 channel music), AL24 processing, Video Conversion (converts S-Video to Component etc etc). Master Audio Delay (cures Lip Sync problems), DTS 96/24.

    These are the main differences from the 3802.
     
  7. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh my.. too technical for me. What of this will improve DVD sound, and will the Master Audio Delay completely cure plasma lip sync problems?
     
  8. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    The DAC´s should improve the sound, better processing will also help. The Master Audio Delay gives you adjustment from 0-200ms so will sort out any lip sync problems provided you connect via the amp.
     
  9. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    "provided you connect via the amp", I just connect the audio to my amp, and video straight to the plasma. I can still fix the sync problems?
     
  10. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    You´ll need to have the video connected through the amp as well for it to work.
     
  11. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why is that?

    I plan on connecting the DVD with SDI so I can´t loop it through the amp.
     
  12. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    I´ll check on my Denon later to see if it will work without the video source connected to the amp. I´m pretty sure it didn´t work when I last tried.

    Here´s more details of the 3803 (PDF File).

    http://www.usa.denon.com/catalog/pdfs/AVR38033v2.pdf
     
  13. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Apart from Denon Link ( Second Edition ) update in latest AVC-A1SR s, any other changes to this model in pipeline ?
     
  14. Phatboy

    Phatboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jase

    The pdf mentions component video conversion.

    does this mean composite & s-video inputs can be output via component but remain composite & S-video quality?

    OR does it some how improve/ upconvert the signal to proper component?

    Mark
     
  15. DiabloRex

    DiabloRex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    <ignorant>
    What does that mean "it loses its pre-outs" you can connect any front speakers to it? you cant connect any extras? or what? :)
    </ignorant>
     
  16. Pathfinder

    Pathfinder
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quality remains as per original connection (s-video or composite) but the real benefit is the reduction in the number of connections to the display device.

    For folks with plasmas or TV's with only one component input (normal I suggest) it will mean less spaghetti. Also frees up sockets for connection via RGB where available.

    Now if Denon could introduce a receiver with SCARTS on the back and conversion of RGB to component then that would be nice.
     
  17. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you don´t have a problem with the number of connections on you display device, then there is really no advantedge in connecting the video sources to you amp is there? It isn´t any better connecting everything to the amp rather than everything to the TV, actually you would just have to add the extra component(or something else) leads from the amp to the display.
    And also you loose the auto channel and ratio switching that scart provides.

    Any more info on the master audio delay, can that not be used to fix lip sync problems if you don´t loop the video signal through the amp?
     
  18. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Exciting to see how the 3802 is gonna compare to the Pioneer VSX-D2011.
     
  19. micb3rd

    micb3rd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,047
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +67
    AV receivers have pre outs so you can connect additional power amplifiers to the receiver to get better and louder sounds out of your speakers.
     
  20. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    keyser

    I was wrong, the Master Audio Delay will work without having the video running through the amp but you need to access the Onscreen Menu to adjust it. It´s much easier with the video running through the amp as you can see what effect the adjustments have, otherwise you have to keep changing channels back & forth.
     
  21. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    The Pre-Outs are for connecting to external power amps so you can beef up the system. The Denon 1803 only has a Sub Pre-Out and has lost its Front Left, Right & Centre Pre-Outs that were on the 1802.
     
  22. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    I´ve not heard of anymore updates to the A1SR.
     
  23. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Thanks, Jase.
     
  24. Brianjhussey

    Brianjhussey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +8
    I am about to buy 3802.

    Any recommended sites/suppliers which combine good service and value for money prices.

    TIA, Brian.
     
  25. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    There are a few about but the only one that I´ve used is www.leconcepts.com I bought a dvd player from them & got it the following day (in the UK).
     
  26. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    "otherwise you have to keep changing channels back & forth.", what do you mean ?

    If I watch ntsc dvd´s then I can just enter the delay that a ntsc progressive scan has and thats it... right?
     
  27. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    To access the Master Audio Delay feature you need to be able to see the Onscreen Display and adjust to somewhere between 0 & 200ms (in 1ms steps). So you´ll need to have the amp connected to your plasma to see it. I cannot access this feature without being able to see the OSD.

    On the dvd´s I have with lip sync problems they all have different settings one is 20ms, another is 30ms etc etc.

    If you have the amp connected to one input (eg. S-Video) to see the OSD and adjust the delay feature, you´ll have to switch to the other input (SDI?) to see the result. Otherwise you won´t know what effect the delay feature is having.
     
  28. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Has anyone seen one of these amps saw a pic in a mag and it looked silver not gold does anybody know the actual colour is
    ?
     
  29. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    Denons are usually Champagne Gold or Black.
     
  30. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Thanks for that i have seen an older model but the 1830 looked very silver in the mag might have been a bad photo but i would still like a comment from someone that as seen one in the flesh.I can't see the local shop getting one in just so that i can look at the colour of it .The colour put me off because it would not match my other gear but if its more silver than gold i might put in my audition list.
     

Share This Page

Loading...