demo required Panasonic 42PHD8 / Pioneer 42MXE10 + Lumagen

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by scooby15mpg, Mar 9, 2006.

  1. scooby15mpg

    scooby15mpg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I'm both new to forum's and know very little about AV systems but not withstanding this I'm keen to purchase a 42” plamsa + scaler .

    My good mate, damo_in_sale is not so clueless & has advised that I go for either a Panasonic 42PHD8 or a Pioneer 42MXE10. He's also convinced me of the need for a video processor.:lesson: I can just about afford a lumagen. The plan is to set the kit up and “run it in” and then spend even more petrol tokens getting the system “calibrated”. (Now I really am out of my depth):boring:

    OK. Before I spend any money I would like to see a demo, ideally of both plasmas, together with a lumagen scaler. I live in Preston and would be prepared to travel a reasonable distance,

    Any of you experts out there know of a likely venue??

    Cheers

    Ralph
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Your nearest serious gent will be Piers, Home cinema engineering. He's near Telford, it could be worse. He's got a Lumagen and a phd8, I'd contact him about a demo. www.homecinemaengineering.co.uk I believe.
     
  3. damo_in_sale

    damo_in_sale
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +565
    Cheers Martin. It looks like we're going to have difficulty getting a look at the MXE10, I can't even find a place that sells them. It looked interesting due to a possible native at 50Hz over DVI with HDCP. I'm still not convinced of this though, there's no mention of this in the brochure... http://www.pioneer.co.uk/files/brochures/05_MMD/PDP42MXE10.pdf

    I've noticed av-sales appear to be selling PHD8's for £1750 which seems tremendous (for that price my XDE might well get sent to the bedroom). My thoughts were to get a Lumagen Vision DVI with BNC outputs going to plasma VGA at native res for all non HDCP stuff and the Lumagen to plasma DVI blade for all HDCP stuff.

    Any thoughts would be welcome (Gordon seemed to think this makes sense).

    Oh, does the PHD already have a vga socket or is a blade required? And is the DVI blade HDCP compatible and hence HD-Ready? (I assume it does what the HDMI blade does but allows for more resolutions, is this correct?).

    Damo
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    It's a long way to Surrey for you! The MXE10 does indeed do native at 50Hz, I don't have one yet, but will be getting one soon. Prob the 50" though.
     
  5. mystic_bertie

    mystic_bertie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
  6. damo_in_sale

    damo_in_sale
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +565
    Cheers, but I think the PHD8 or MXE10 is the way to go.
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    With the scaler, I'm sure you are right.
     
  8. mystic_bertie

    mystic_bertie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    baah sorry i was not paying attention i thought it was the pwd8 you were after. :rolleyes:
     
  9. damo_in_sale

    damo_in_sale
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +565
    I sure the above is schoolboy question, but can somebody address this for me please?
     
  10. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +230
    The PHD8 includes a VGA socket as standard. The DVI card includes HDCP.
     
  11. damo_in_sale

    damo_in_sale
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +565
    Cheers mate.
     

Share This Page

Loading...