Dell/Google Search page, its doing my head in.

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by pemberto, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. pemberto

    pemberto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hello All,

    I am after some help as this is doing my head in, let me explain.

    I have a 3 month old Dell 9150 running MCE. I have an issue with IE, but its not an IE problem. (let me explain a little more)

    I run IE7, all my search settings are set to Microsoft. I use live search and all is fine. If I look at the Internet Options, Search it only lists Microsoft.

    I dont have any default pages loading.

    For some unkown reason if IE cannot find a page it will load up a Dell based Google search screen or if i type a search query on the address bar it will also load this google engine, but if I type the search spec in the query field it loads the MS search engine.

    The only Google app I have loaded is Picasa.

    If i go to my Internet Options in IE and select Use Default for the Home Page i get the following URL:

    www.google.co.uk/ig/dell?hl=en&client=dell-usuk&channel=uk

    I put a call into Dell (waste of time) after I was put on hold for the 5th time and being asked I can clear the browser cache i started to query the registry and I found the following.

    HKEY_CURRENT_User\Software\BAE

    Name - BAEUrl
    Type - REG_SZ
    Data - http://images.google.com/images?q=

    I deleted the entry and restarted the machine and all was fine :clap:

    No, it's just happended again and I have found the BAE entry back in the registry. So now you can all understand why I am banging my head on a wall.

    What have dell done to the standard build that will not let me get away from the google search engine.
     
  2. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Download SpywareBlaster it allows you to change hard to find options like this.
     
  3. pemberto

    pemberto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    All sorted. It was a Dell/Google URL Assistant app that had been installed. All uninstalled and working fine.

    Thanks for the info Singh400.
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,204
    That explains what's happening on my laptop. I'm also getting that page displayed if it can't find adverts on web pages and I agree it is very annoying.
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,204
    Where was this Dell/Google URL assistant ? I've looked in control panel but can't see any mention of it.
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,204
    It's OK I found it with HijackThis. :thumbsup:
     
  7. pemberto

    pemberto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Also have a look at C:\Program Files\BAE\BAE.DLL

    That's the name of the file that caused all the problems. It's code that was developed by Dell. I have just checked and the file is still on the drive even after removing it from the control panel. I'm off to delete the little bugger.
     

Share This Page

Loading...