1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Deleting Preview Files in Adobe Premiere.

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Makaveli96, Jun 15, 2005.

1. Makaveli96

Makaveli96

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. I tried to search this topic but couldn't find exactly what I wanted. Also I'm new to this. I have a finished project in Adobe Premiere and I have a preview files folder that is over 6 GB. If I delete the preview files will this in any way damage the project? If I ever decided to go back and edit my project again will it matter if the preview files are deleted? I don't know the difference between the preview files and the actualy captured video. I have the original video that was captured from my camcorder and I'm not sure why Premiere has to make these preview files. They take up a whole lot of space, way more than the original captured video. So I guess I'm asking a couple things. 1) Can I delete my preview files, and if so, will I be able to still edit my project later on? and 2) What is the purpose of the preview files? Thanks.

2. Roy Mallard

Roy Mallard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Preview files (aka render files depending on the application you use) basically take any deviation from the orginal source footage and store it for quick and easy recall by the computer.

It's worth understanding 2 things about editing on your computer (correctly called NON LINEAR EDITING):

1: your timeline is purely a viewer, it is like co-ordinates on a map, dead basic info which is useless without a map to refer to. Your edit decisions are the co-ordinates, your source footage is the map.