definative headset thread

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by RSVdaz, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. RSVdaz

    RSVdaz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +49
    can anyone give a step by step process on how to get bluetooth headsets up and running

    ive manged to pair it ok
    turned up the mike to maximum in the settings..but the bar doesnt register any blips when testing

    tried it on RFOM (by pressing l3) and i got no response
     
  2. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    One way to tell if there's anyone actually on with a headset is to set the output to come through the main speakers, so you can hear others speaking. In my experience it's rare to find anyone actually using a headset.

    If the headset is connected it'll be in white in the settings screen, otherwise it'll be grey.

    Gonna get a logitech usb headset today probably since I can't stand this thing I have at the moment that hooks (poorly) over my ear.
     
  3. RSVdaz

    RSVdaz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +49
    by changing output is that...from headset to default setting/system?
     
  4. breadmaker6

    breadmaker6
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,929
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Land Of The Concrete Cows
    Ratings:
    +735

    If your not getting the 'blips' on the bar during testing it isn't working.
     
  5. RSVdaz

    RSVdaz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +49
    bugger :(
     
  6. breadmaker6

    breadmaker6
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,929
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Land Of The Concrete Cows
    Ratings:
    +735
    What headset are you using?

    Even if it doesn't work don't panic. Just ebay it!

    I sold a Motorola one for a couple of quid less than I paid for it, but then managed to pick up a new Jabra JX10 (£79.99 in carphone warehouse) for £21 :smashin:

    It works a treat on RFOM and Motorstorm which is a bugger to get working with headsets.

    Plus you need to make sure that your settings for you internet will allow you to communicate.
     
  7. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    Good point.. the best guide I've found is here
     
  8. RSVdaz

    RSVdaz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +49
    i did try it with an 02 and i could hear ppl but they couldnt hear me this was on Rfom..this was before i realised you had to press l3..but..i wanted to change it because it had no ear hook and it kep falling out and it was rechargable..but could find the charger..(i have one at work but i keep forgetting to charge it)
    the new one is a Opticom BT28VM..has an ear hook and u can replace battaries..job done...apart that it dont work
     
  9. RSVdaz

    RSVdaz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +49
    ok i have a bt wireless router ive got a setting called DMZ plus which opens all pots to the ps3 gonna give that a go
     
  10. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    If you're not getting any response on the mic then it won't matter whatever you do router-wise. The mic test just tests that...

    I'm not aware of any online connectivity tests, other than simply going onto a game where you know someone is on the other end with a working headset.
     
  11. RSVdaz

    RSVdaz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +49
    got it working now..trouble is i only found one other person playing rfom with a mic
     
  12. breadmaker6

    breadmaker6
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,929
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Land Of The Concrete Cows
    Ratings:
    +735

    If you join the AVF Clan for RFOM you will find a fair few of us on there using headsets. :hiya:

    Although all you tend to hear is the sound of us laughing at each other when we get taken out! :rotfl:
     
  13. Urien Rheged

    Urien Rheged
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,660
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +864
    I got that usb headset and works fine with the PS3 unlike my bluetooth
     
  14. Frasermack

    Frasermack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    237
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Any answer on that? My Jabra works just fine on RFOM (Clan KoD:smashin: ) though usually dies after about 3 hours as it's on permanent 'talk mode' when playing. I only ask as my wife gets frustrated when I burst out laughing for no apparent reason as she can't hear what folk are saying. Would be a bonus if I could play the incoming through the speakers. Little help anyone?

    Regards>
     

Share This Page

Loading...