Defeating Region Coding

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Ratoban, Mar 23, 2003.

  1. Ratoban

    Ratoban
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just got a Panasonic E50 and want to do the obvious and " back up my DVD`s " (alright) so advice on any options open to me would be greatly appreciated.
    Using a Limit 9900se to play dvd but @ present getting the run around from the recorder telling me it can`t do that.
    HELP :confused:
    Thanx.
    Rob
     
  2. bugman

    bugman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South Staffs
    Ratings:
    +3

    its not region coding that is the problem,its macrovision and something called cgms.
    This can be defeated if you buy a special scart lead with built in circuitry to disable both macro and cgms.
    Take a look at www.multiregionmagic.co.uk the lead they sell removes both (i have one) but they are on the expensive side,
    around £49.

    bugman
     
  3. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    this will only allow you to back up R2 DVDs though
     
  4. ferris57

    ferris57
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    another option would be to buy a accoustic solutions 321 dvd player from richer sounds for £49. (it can be easily disabled via the handset). The picture quality isn't great from this player though.

    If the picture quality of your limit is pretty good, I would go the macro scart lead solution mentioned by bugman. (this gives the added bonus of working with any source not just dvd...i.e vhs).
     
  5. Ratoban

    Ratoban
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanx for the replies the lead certainly fits the bill.
    1st thing 2morrow on the phone
    :p
    Rob
     
  6. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,621
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    yes m8 the lead from Multiregionmagic is good as you can back up R1 with that as well.

    However, I'm sure you must be able to disable macro and CGMS on your Limit somehow through a secret menu perhaps ?
     
  7. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you sure it will allow R1 back-up?
     
  8. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,621
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    yes I do it all the time on my E20.

    Set Input as NTSC and away you go. BTW It only does this with the scart from multiregion.
    Oh and you must set output from your source player as NTSC as you don't want onboard NTSC to PAL60 conversion going on. "E" series recorders can't handle that and the results are cr*p. Stick to NTSC and it's all cool.
     
  9. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what player are you playing from

    my second player is a tosh 210 i do not think i can set that to ntsc
     
  10. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,621
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    Sony NS900. Plays NTSC as NTSC and PAL as PAL.

    Not familiar with your Toshiba I'm afraid, it maybe cos it's converting NTSC to PAL 60. When you are trying what is going wrong with your recordngs m8 ?

    I've just done xXx R3, Fifth Element R1 and Clash Of the Titans R1. Works fine for me.

    Cheap cable will get B/W or cannot record message on your E recorder.
     
  11. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had a different gadget

    but when i tried to back up r1 dvds my e30 just said copyright of this material is not permitted
     
  12. Ratoban

    Ratoban
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanx 4 the help ordered a lead this morning get it 2 morrow. Now what else can i buy...........
    rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice