1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dedicated Room Prices

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by President Gas, Nov 7, 2002.

1. President Gas

President Gas
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All

As you can see from my post count, I'm a complete newbie here, so apologies if this has come up before. I have looked back through previous posts and have not come across anything so here I am.

Anyway, I am at the initial stages of creating my own dedicated HC room. (i.e. I've thought, "hey! we dont use the garage, why not turn it into a HC room!")

There have been some very good threads in here which I have read with great interest. However, one thing that people don't seem to mention is howmuch it all costs.

Now I completely understand if people do not wish to discuss this sort of thing. However, if anyone has gone through this, particuarly garage conversions, could give me an idea of how much it costs to convert (not including all the HC gear itself). Things like building walls, putting in windows, floor, soundproofing and cabling.

At the moment I am trying to get some kind of handle on what an average cost would be. From this I hope to set my budget and take it from there.

Any help greatfully appreciated and I won't be offended if you tell me to stop poking my nose into your financial affairs.

Thanks

Gas

2. X3ELS

X3ELS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +105
    Hi Gas

I am guessing but to get someone in to do the work i have carried out, (see other post). And to leave the room as a plastered shell (including all the soundproofing) might cost you around £6k. Totally depends on the amount of work required to transform the room though.