1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dedicated player or XBOX 360 for HD?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by xxalxx, Aug 18, 2005.

  1. xxalxx

    xxalxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth - Australia
    Ratings:
    +2
  2. dewalty

    dewalty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    sources

    slashdot


    "Bill Gates announced that the Xbox 360 will have an HD-DVD drive, just not for launch. From the article: "According to the statements made by Bill Gates in Japan, Xbox 360, the new gaming console, will include HD-DVD drives. Considering that such a decision would postpone the launching date, Microsoft will equip the initial models with classic DVD drives, and only after the new HD-DVD are ready, the Xbox will incorporate them."

    You may not want to be the 1st to get one.
     
  3. xxalxx

    xxalxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth - Australia
    Ratings:
    +2
    hmmmmmm why does something always come along to make a choice even harder :mad:

    Ta tho :rotfl:

    Al
     
  4. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,044
    Xbox 360 will play DVDs in progressive scan via component. It won't upscale them

    It will play videos stored on its HDD, but thats only 20GB so far. No word on whether you can copy across from your PC, or only download via LIVE (probably the latter to help prevent hacking save games etc)

    It seems like it'll only stream video from your PC if you are using Media Center Edition of Windows. I don't know what impact that has on the codecs supported, but at the Leipzig press conference they showed it running a 720p clip of Star Wars ep. III, recorded on a MCE PC
     
  5. xxalxx

    xxalxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth - Australia
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm sure within days of the box becoming available, some talanted people will have everything we need to allow us to view all our media in 720p :)


    Al
     
  6. xxalxx

    xxalxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth - Australia
    Ratings:
    +2
  7. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    The Xbox 360 can play back WMV-HD content, so you better start encoding your .ts file via Windows Media Encoder..
     
  8. Lionheart

    Lionheart
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could be worse..there is a thread in the playstation forum about the ps3 being delayed in Europe until 2007
     
  9. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +764
    Until the XBox 360 is launched, and we see how it is integrated with MCE as an extender, it is not easy to confirm what HD formats it will play from DVD-ROM, it's internal hard drive, and network sources. It may be that it only plays DVR-MS MPEG2 material I guess - which wouldn't be a major source in Europe. (There are no UK Media Center compatible HD delivery options at the moment - neither DVB-T nor analogue composite/s-video would be HD sources)
     
  10. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    it was confirmed by microsoft itself that it will play WMV-HD content, and since it is a media center extender it will play back all files a media center extender can do as will as Live HDTV, this all came from the horses mouth...
     
  11. xxalxx

    xxalxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth - Australia
    Ratings:
    +2
    so we could be onto a winner !!!!

    Al
     
  12. mr_b_at_home

    mr_b_at_home
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Inverness
    Ratings:
    +4
    I take it then that the XBox 360 will output DD 5.1 from wmv hd ?? This would be quite handy if it does :thumbsup:

    Anybody know if it will :confused:
     
  13. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +122
    Well, if WMV-HD supports 5.1, then like the games, it should do.
     
  14. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +251
    Typically WMV-HD media is encoded with either a WMA or WMA-Pro soundtrack. WMA is 2 channel, and WMA-Pro is Microsoft's proprietary 5.1 format, which is NOT the same as Dolby Digital 5.1, and needs a decoder/amp that can decode WMA-Pro. And you can count the number of those that are on the market on one hand - or even one finger!

    Unless the XBox360 is able to downconvert WMA-Pro to DD5.1, you're going to have to buy a new decoder/amp. And why would Microsoft implement any downconversion to DD5.1, when they really want everyone to adopt their own WMA-Pro standard for 5.1.
     
  15. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +122
    Because DD5.1 is likely to be already in use by users for their HC setups, and the developers of games. So, it makes sense for the 360 at least to be able to do WMA-Pro to DD5.1 transcrbes.
    This is the thing I hate about MS the most - they're not content with just making a ***** copy of Apple's OSes, but they want to rewrite standards that other companies have created and the world at large has adopted.
     
  16. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    The original Xbox came with a dolby digital encoder built in which converted 5.1 audio to dolby 5.1 so I imagine the same will be done with the 360, shame reall though, I would of like 5.1 analogue output...
     

Share This Page

Loading...