1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dect Modem

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by fatbaldbloke, Dec 6, 2003.

  1. fatbaldbloke

    fatbaldbloke
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just getting Sky+ installed.

    Does anyone make a device which you can plug into a sky box or pc modem socket which then uses dect to connect wirelessly into the telephone system? ie like cordless phones?

    I can't find anything but would be a cool invention

    C
     
  2. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    Never heard of one but you can get a bit of kit that utilises your mains ring.

    Here

    Not cheap tho.

    HTH :)
     
  3. fatbaldbloke

    fatbaldbloke
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks!

    Found it elsewhere £20 cheaper. Better for me than having wires everywhere!

    C
     
  4. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    I'd be wary of using one if you've got broadband tho.
     
  5. fatbaldbloke

    fatbaldbloke
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thats OK. I Live in a village and have community based WiLan broadband.

    Found it for £59.99. If the sky man won't put my telephone cable outside I'll get one of these.

    C
     
  6. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    BT do a DECT modem(bt.com). You can buy the modem to use with an existing DECT phone or a full phone/base station/answer machine combo. You need Win 98 or higher and a spare USB. They are on sale at the mo' too. Can't use it with Sky obviously, only PC, but unlike the mains device the DECT modem does support 56Kb/s. The most you'll get out of the mains system is approx 28-36 Kb/s.
     
  7. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Quote from weird fish
    I'd be wary of using one if you've got broadband tho.

    Any reason why? I also need one of these found them in Maplin made by one for all at £60. My telephone cable is miles away and we dont want cables, so I was going to get one and use it, but I have adsl..so what effect would this have on the adsl line?

    Cheers

    Tone
     
  8. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15

    There seems to be a compatability issue with them, sometimes they work generally they dont. It seems to cause the adsl modem to drop sync with the exch.
     
  9. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    The One for All unit will only support a max data rate of around 36Kb/s.
    That's Kilobits, not Megabits, so it's slower than a very slow thing even with a standard dial up connection. Broadband, forget it.




     
  10. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    Yeh but it will also screw up broadband if you use it elsewhere on the circuit
     
  11. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sorry mate, I didn't realise what you meant.:blush:



     
  12. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    No prob, sometimes you write somit one way but someone reads it different.
     
  13. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Still love tunafish sandwiches, by the way? I know that tigers will do anything for a tunafish sandwich.:D
     
  14. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15

    :laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...