1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Decisions....JVC THA35R Vs Pioneer DCS 303

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Boof, Sep 18, 2003.

1. Boof

Boof

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I'm new to the whole home cinema thing so could do with some advice. I've narrowed my shortlist down to the 2 systems above, the JVC for £220 (Richer Snds) or the Pioneer for £230 (online, Techtronics). Both multi region.

Both seem to be quality, and v good for the price. So people, the question is, which one, and why???:confused: I really can't decide.

Of course any other suggestions are welcome (though I want one with DTS, Pro-logic II, RDS, decent sound output, and reasonable at playing CD's...and under £250. I don't ask for much!!!)

Cheers,
    Steve

2. bonzobanana

bonzobanana

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +219
    Pioneer better sound, JVC better picture. If your planning on using s-video output as your using your rgb scart socket for a digibox or something like that then the Pioneer is the better option. Also the JVC only plays back region 1 dvds in converted to pal 50hz mode (bit of a giveaway this that its made by Samsung).

3. thewallboy

thewallboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have literally just bought a Pioneer 313, I think this is the newest one. I paid £245 and it really is a treat. I bought a scart switch box and can now have both Satellite and DVD's thru RGB. Also sounds great when hooked up to my PS2. Vice City is programmed in DTS so it is superb.

Hope this helps.

Chris

4. bonzobanana

bonzobanana

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +219