• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Decisions, decisions....Z3 or HS50

Evil Ally

Standard Member
First time projector buyer here :thumbsup:

I would love to get an AE700, but I've pretty much ruled it out due to VB issues :thumbsdow This leaves me with the Z3 and HS50. I have the opportunity to pick up a Z3 for £998 which has me very tempted. I could go for the Z3 and save £500.....but what would I be missing with the Sony? I have to make a move on this tomorrow.....can anyone say anything to help me make up my mind :confused:

1ofaKind

Established Member
Hi,

Well after reading various forums and fliting between plasma, lcd and pj I finally after some arm twisting from my father I bought a Z3 blind. I've never used or had a pj before (only seen them used for presentations) but for the price I thought give it a go :D

It arrived yesterday - good service from ivojo :smashin: (my room isn't finished yet) so we just stuck it on the kitchen table - got a piece of painted mdf (I'm making a fixed mdf painted screen for the wall as my image size is smaller than most) and fired straight at it (I know mr amateur :p ). We hooked up a Panasonic E95 via component and made sure progressive scan was active.

I don't know what to look for in terms of VB/Screendoor and all the other problems but to myself and my father the picture gobsmacked us. With no settings being changed on the unit it was very very impressive (far better than I had expected). Fired up T2 and the start sequence with the fire was excellent - heh no sound otherwise I might have ended up watching it all :) I even ran normal TV through the E95 (rf) and that was pretty good aswell - I think my original aim of keeping the Z3 for Console,DVD might change after seeing footy/cricket :laugh: