Decent graphics card for Call of Duty 6

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by M477e0, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. M477e0

    M477e0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was thinking of getting a Nvidia 9500gt but will that be good enough. thx :)
     
  2. Razor

    Razor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,726
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,503
    Firstly there is no such game as call of duty 6, I take it you mean COD5 and secondly the 9500gt is not a gaming card. The 9500gt is suited to web surfing and media playback.

    What res is your display. You really want to be spending around £100 if you want a half decent gaming card. An ATI 4850 would be ideal. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2009
  3. namuk

    namuk
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,332
    Dam :( i did here call of duty 6 (when released) is based on a true story:thumbsup:
     
  4. Usama

    Usama
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +386
  5. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    What card for call of duty 12?
     
  6. zamall.miah

    zamall.miah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +0
    ati 4850 or if you can get a decent priced (2nd hand?) 9800GTX+, still got plenty of oomph:)
     
  7. insomniak123

    insomniak123

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Balamb Garden
    Ratings:
    +370
  8. namuk

    namuk
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,332
    You can buy them PS3 consoles at Toys"R"Us :D
     
  9. Usama

    Usama
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +386
    But the PS3 has a graphics card.
     
  10. Zeromajor

    Zeromajor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Btown
    Ratings:
    +594
    Technically there's no game called Call Of Duty 5 either, as officially world at war wasn't numbered.

    Maybe they're taking the numbers out of the games now and just focusing on what theatre of war the game is set within, with a name to reflect that?
     
  11. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,532
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    yes a crap one :D
     
  12. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    The PS3 has an Nvidia chip which is based on one of their older GPU's (i think the 6800/7800 series)

    While the PS3 stands still tech wise (and PCs keep geting better) game devs do manage to squeeze more and more out of these older chips since they get more time to work with them.

    Which is why you can see the same sort of graphics from a PS3 as from a 9800 or even 200 series GPU.

    To be hones these newer GPUs from Nvidia dont make any major changes over the older chips.

    Yes, they are smaller in die size and therefore run faster giving you more frames per second, but they dont offer anything new graphics wise over older cards.

    Whats really important is what level of DX they support. Older chips are DX9, newer ones are DX10. But till they start supporting DX11, we wont see any real improvements.

    So, any card (even an older one) that supports DX9 or DX10 will be enough for any new game.

    I myself am sticking to my 8800GTX's (which are DX10 cards) till a propper DX11 card comes out.

    Now, COD. If that game requires a DX11 card, then wait for those to come out.

    If not then any card available now will work.

    You dont need the latest 295GTX or the AMD equivalent to play the game.

    What does matter is how high your monitor resolution is.

    The problem im seeing these days with a lot of devs is that they are choosing to develop for consoles rather than PCs now because theres more money in it.

    PC gamers end up geting bad ports on the PC of what is basically a PS3 or Xbox 360 game. If we have high end equipment its such a waste.

    And if the games run badly on the PC, its not coz we need new cards, its because the games arent being optimized for the PC properly.
    (and therefore run badly)

    I think they do this on purpose to make us think that we need to get a new card just to run this game (which is really designed to run on much older hardware)

    This is the reason I will never buy another Ghost Recon game, and im worried the COD devs are heading the same way.

    The guys (DICE) behind the Battlefield series are also heading in that direction.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  13. namuk

    namuk
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,332
    7800:smashin:

    I use to have 2 of them running sli :thumbsup:

    Also DICE = Lazy Amateurs in a mans world not a stickle brick world = the easy way out..
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  14. gEELOVER

    gEELOVER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Republic of Mancunia
    Ratings:
    +76
    COD 6 has been anounced for release this year, IW are doing it, so technically the OP has a valid Question :)

    I'd assume the latest GFX cards out now, will be just fine for when it's released
     
  15. M477e0

    M477e0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive decided to get a 9800gtx+ will it be good enough and will it be hd so should I get a blu-ray player?
     
  16. namuk

    namuk
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,332
  17. kiran255

    kiran255
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was thinking of getting the 4850 for this. Is it really good enough for new games?
     
  18. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2,928
    only 9 more months, nothing else to look forward to really, except for tales of valor
     
  19. messenger

    messenger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea
    Ratings:
    +204
    Excuse me but I do believe you need to get your eyes tested .......
     

Share This Page

Loading...