dead skybox

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by soddit, May 12, 2005.

  1. soddit

    soddit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sky online tech support tell me my digibox is probably a dead duck :eek:
    As the box is 5 years old and Sky want £65 for a call out I think it is time to replace it. being a novice I'm not sure what to do, do i have to have a sky box or can I use any other satellite receiver.
    Help please?


    :lease: Urgently, the kids are already in withdrawal
     
  2. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +324
    Perhaps if you gave us the make & model of the box and the exact fault symptoms we may be able to help. :rolleyes:

    A. Dork
     
  3. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,871
    Cheap, quick fix is to place a wanted ad for a replacement on the classifieds here.
     
  4. soddit

    soddit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    a panasonic TU-DSB20.
    System froze on channel changing using number buttons. tried the standard reset via power off for 15 secs, standby for a minute and tv/sky to come out of standby. tried this 6 times over the next 30 mins but it freezes up on the search for channels or just gives me a blue screen. Sky tech tried every combination at their disposal over the phone including resiteing all the cables and new batteries in the remote. All they can offer at present is an engineer call out. I'd welcome any advice although i think the newer box may be the only option, would like sky+ but it is so biased to the new customer.
     
  5. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +324
    That doesn't fix the problem though, does it? :confused:

    soddit - it'll be the microprocessor - can be repaired but not worth it. The DSB20 is a bit long in the tooth now.

    A. Dork
     
  6. mkehinde2

    mkehinde2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    What if you call them and tell them if they cant fix it for free you'll cancel your subscription?
     
  7. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,871
    In my 30 years experience of working with electronics, replacing a faulty item with a good one has a 100% success rate.

    Always willing to take onboard your alternative to my suggestion but you don't seem to have got round to posting it yet....
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    .... and in my 40 years of working with electronics, replacing an old knackered component with one of the same age doesn't really achieve much either. The Pannie TU-DSB20 had a host of design faults even when it was working, so it's not advisable to seek another.
     
  9. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +324
    Now who's looking for a fight?

    'soddit' asked what was wrong with his box - I told him.

    You told him to place a wanted ad for a second hand one.

    Both answers have some merit - let's let 'soddit' decide what to do, shall we?

    A. Dork
     
  10. soddit

    soddit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all your advice
    I did a bit of googling and sumised that the panasonic was a bit iffy in its design and there fore a dead duck with regard to economic repair. So I've purchased a new Pace DS430N from e-bay. The kids are happier, now I'm getting "whens it coming" over and over again
     
  11. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +324
    You're welcome. :thumbsup:

    A. Dork
     
  12. soddit

    soddit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The new Pace box has arrived and what a difference, sanity in the house is restored :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice