1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dead Pixels

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by G a f f e r, May 14, 2004.

  1. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,886
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +468
    I've just noticeed after 1.5 years that my digital camera has dead pixels. Not on the view screen, but when I take a photo. Transferring the photo to my computer and 7 dead pixels show up (4 green, 2 blue, 1 red). I only noticed them after taking night shots the other day but have now looked over night shots from 6 months ago and they're there :( (not sure when they first appeared though)

    The camera is just out of warranty so I was wondering if it could get fixed? Or will I need to buy a new one (the pixels are VERY distracting now, I'm always looking for them on shots).

    thanx for any info
     
  2. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    yeah, I had the same problem...

    the only way to solve this is buy buy a big box of felt tip pens....it'll drive you dotty in the end tho...
     
  3. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,388
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,019
    I think this is more appropriate in this forum.

    [Moved from General Chat by Garrett]
     
  4. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,886
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +468
    thanx garrett (sorry, I somehow completely missed this forum:suicide: )

    So if I wanted a new camera it would be between the canon s50 (uses cf cards) and a similar camera that uses sd cards (I already have these so it would save me buying vew (cf) ones)

    Any thoughts on what to shortlist?
     
  5. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    I've got a fujifilm finepix a201 - which uses the obsolete smartmedia cards (it's replacement uses newer cards, but not sure which ones!) try - http://www.digitaldepot.co.uk/

    I think Minolta use SD cards tho...
    but as for recomemdations, I'm not too sure...
     
  6. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    5 Mpx / 3x Optical zoom cameras using SD cards...

    HP Photosmart 935
    HP Photosmart R707
    Pentax Optio 555 (4.9x zoom)
    Kyocera Finecam S5R
    Pentax Optio 550 (4.9x zoom)
    Minolta DiMAGE F300
    Contax TVS Digital
    Kyocera Finecam S5
    Toshiba PDR-5300

    Found using...

    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare.asp

    An excellent search feature.
     
  7. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    great, cool website!
     
  8. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
  9. stuthemong

    stuthemong
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    i wouldnt worry too much about 7 pixels gone.

    You should be able to write a photoshop action to automatically remove them from all shots you take (just put the average from the pixels around in) - this can be totally automated, and will work for 99% of photos.

    Stu
     
  10. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,886
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +468
    thanx for that everyone.
    as i have an sd card or two, i was hoping to re-use them and so buy the minolta f300, but this camera has slow startup times (so is useless for that quick piccie moment).
    The canon sureshot s50 caught my eye (I could sell my sd cards and buy new ones).
    stuthemong....good idea but
    a) have not got photoshop for my mac os x (i use GraphicConvertor), but i do have it on OS 9 Classic - which takes longer to start up and get into
    b) I've got no ideas how to do what you suggest.

    c) if i can get option b to work, i'll hang on to my existing camera
     

Share This Page

Loading...