Dead pixels - ISO Standard 13406-2: what it actually means

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by David Mackenzie, Jul 3, 2005.

  1. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie

    Aug 28, 2003
    Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Trophy Points:
    Glasgow, UK
    Thought this would be very useful for the LCD forum. I remember in the Samsung 32" thread, there was much confusion about Samsung's vague reply. They actually wanted customers to pay about 15 pounds to download the 140+ page paper and get their answer!

    So here it is, taken from Tom's Hardware Guide:

    If you don't like clicking, or if the link ever goes down:

    Most manufacturers comply with "Class 2" of the standard (Samsung do). Unless the manufacturer says what standard they follow, they are automatically in Class 1, which allows NO dead pixels at all.

    Class 2 allows the following #s of dead pixels:

    Type 1: 2
    Type 2: 2
    Type 3: 5
    Cluster with more than one Type1 or Type2 faults: 0
    Cluster of Type3 faults: 2

    And what do the "Types" mean?:

    # Type 1: number of always-lit pixels.
    # Type 2: number of always-unlit pixels.
    # Type 3: other defects, particularly on sub-pixels and the RGB cells making up pixels (lit or unlit). This means red, green and blue pixels lit the whole time. Experience shows that this is undoubtedly the most common defect.
    # Type 4 (Fault Cluster): the number of defective pixels in a square of 5 x 5 pixels on a panel.

    To find the total number of defective pixels allowed, add up the defects of Types 1, 2 and 3.

    It's all very confusing... but basically, it looks like the common number is *11* dead pixels?

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice