1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dead pixel advice

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by rbl, Jan 19, 2005.

1. rbl

rbl

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all!
    I'm totally new to the LCD scene, my Sony 100Hrz flat screen has been a trusted companion in long movie night sessions but its Rhinoceros size has dictated its fate and I've bought a Sharp LC26GA3.

Lately I've been reading a lot of posts about dead pixels on this forum. Some people send their LCD tvs back, some don't, some go through 2 or more replacements units till they got one in perfect conditions, etc.

I'm a bit anxious about this matter because I've bought the last unit on stock at my favorite online shop. If I send it back, there is no guarantee that they can replace with the same model (now discontinued by Sharp) or for the GA4 (sold out and also discontinued). The G5 seems to be a big step down the ladder.

Using common sense, seems stupid to send back a unit if I have one or a couple of unnoticeable dead pixels but what do you think? How many dead pixels are acceptable? Does this problem aggravate with time?

Thanks for your time! =)
    Ricardo

2. deadred

deadred

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +89
    Depends on personal preferance, i paid nearly a grand for a TV so wanted it in perfect condition when it arrived (not too much to ask for surely?), i got one in the end, and i would do the same again if i bought another

3. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,909
    If you don't see them, then either there aren't any, or they don't matter. If you do, use your 7 days DSR rights to get a refund, then start over.

4. Member 55145

Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,489