1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dead Parasound 1205A. Help?

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by Daneel, Jun 16, 2004.

  1. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    My Parasound 1205A seems to have died. I last used it a couple of days ago and noticed no problems. When I turned it on today there is no response. None of the LEDs come on. My first thought was a fuse so I swapped the plug over for another one but that hasn’t helped. I then unscrewed the amp’s own fuse but it looks fine (can I tell by looking if it is ok?).

    Any suggestions on what is wrong and how to fix it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Fuses can often look ok when their not , best check it with a meter or swap it to make sure.
     
  3. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Thanks for the reply. I don't have anything to check the fuse with. When I put it back in I managed to chew up the screw groves :(

    So now I have two problems, where to get another fuse and how to get the damn thing out to change it. The fuse is about an inch long, a lot bigger than the normal ones in plugs. It says 250V, 8A, 32G on it.
     
  4. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    You could check out electronic shops like www.maplin.co.uk to see if they have a similar fuse or if you can get the fuse back out take it to the shop and i'm sure they will check it for you
     
  5. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    I managed to get the fuse out again. It says 326 not 32G. I appear to have 2 options from CPC's website this or this . One is a pack of 10 and the other is a single, so quite a price difference. Looking up the Littlefuse website doesn't help a great deal, this and this .

    Any electronics guys out there who can suggest which (if either) is the right fuse?

    Hrm, it appears that from the 326 and the size (it's 31mm long) that it's the more expensive one. What a shock. Is an electrical shop likely to stock these or will I have to go to someone like CPC?
     
  6. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Damn handling charge of £3.99! Still, if it fixes the problem it's cheap at twice the price. I just wish I could test it first but I don't have the necessary equipment.
     
  7. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    danial i was using my a23 plugged direckly into wall socket with no problems, used a cheapo seperate 4 way plug and the fuse in the plug blew twice it was only 3 amp though,

    cant you give say crt projecters a call re fuse im sure they could give you info on fuse replacement etc.
     
  8. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Mick, i sent off an email to them, thanks.

    I bought a multi-meter on my way home this evening and checked the internal fuse. It is blown. I can get a replacement but I'm concerned as to what caused it to blow in the first place.

    Should I just replace the fuse and hope it all works out ok, or should I get it checked out? I was always under the impression that power amps were fairly simple devices with little that could go wrong and anything that did would be easy to fix.
     
  9. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +299
    Just change the fuse - blowing is what they are there for :smoke:
     
  10. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    The only point I'd add to that is that if it blows repeatedly...find a reason for it...running too hard for too long,or low impedance loads or a fault somewhere.

    Usually though,it does just come down to the fuse needing to be changed.
     
  11. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +299
    If it blows repeatedly, marry it !! Seriously though I hope you get it sorted quickly.
     
  12. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    rofl

    Thanks rags.
     
  13. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    If only! :rotfl:
     
  14. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    MEN!!

    Why is it you'll do just about anything for someone who can be creative with bubble gum!!

    :devil: Steff :devil:
     
  15. Cmoth

    Cmoth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +19
    i agree , i had this problem with my Primare and it turned out to be an internal fuse. This is certainly the first place to start before you do anything!

    Colin
     
  16. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Well I have ordered 10 (they are sold in packs of 10 only) of the external fuse. if it blows immediately I know I have a more serious problem. I'm not keen on messing around with anything more than that. I can't afford to replace the amp at this moment in time.

    Parasound tech support have got back to me and should help me out if the replacement fuse doesn't fix the problem.
     
  17. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    I finally got my hands on the fuses today. The amp is working fine now! :thumbsup: :clap:

    A few lessons learned:

    1. If an amplifier dies, don't panic, it could well just be a fuse. :)

    2. If you have a screwed in fuse, when tightening it up, don't over do it, all you'll do is chew up the plastic.

    3. If your Parasound amp needs a new internal fuse and you don't want to wait a month for one, you know where to ask :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...