1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dead barco800

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by arbey, Jan 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arbey

    arbey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a barco data800 that was oké when i got it, i could let it testrun for about 15minutes when i bought it....i had to check several projectors that's why i only had 15 minutes but, i came home, put on a movie and all was oké for 45 minutes, after that the projector shut down and now: nothing anymore! NOt even a scanlight or controllight, nothing! not even the fans come on! can anyone help me out on this one? i already swapped powersupply board...
    thanks
     
  2. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Check the input fuses.
    Afte that the mains switch on these occasionally went.
    Check with a meter from the power lead right through to the mains input board. (just follow the wires.)
     
  3. arbey

    arbey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's strange, i am used to the data600 so i guessed the fuses would be somewhere on the same spot...so i took out the powersupplyboard (second on the right, standing behind, table mounted) but i couldn't find the fuses! are they hidden somewhere?
    i check this evening with a meter...
    i keep you informed
    thanks!
     
  4. arbey

    arbey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Roland! you where absolutely wright! thanks a lot! it was fuse P100 that had blown, i replaced it and the damn machine got running again! do you have any idea what could have caused this fuse to blow? sometimes misconvergence can be the reason but i thought i had converged this one well....
    thanks!
     
  5. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    I very much doubt that even maximum strain could have caused a fuse to go. Fuses do age, they are designed to be the weak spot and like all fuses will just fail when they have had enough. so long as it doesn't do it agin things should be fine for another 10 years.
    Glad it was just the fuse though.
     
  6. arbey

    arbey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i see...but it is strange though that a little thing like a fuse can cause the pj not to do anything! so Checkpoint number1: the fuses!
    thanks! For no, the projector has been running 2 hours without stopping so...i guess problem solved!
    thanks
     
  7. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +3
    Not really, if you think about it fuses are always the first thing in the chain to protect both your life and the electronical appliance.

    Sometimes the fuse going could save you a lot of money.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...