Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

DD5.1 Hard disk Recording

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by Skid Solo, Sep 19, 2003.

Tags:
  1. Skid Solo

    Skid Solo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will Sky+ record in DD5.1 onto the hard disk for movies that are transmitted in 5.1 ?

    If so when you copy a movie to a DVDR to keep it will it copy the Stereo or DPL soundtrack (I realise that you cant as yet record DD5.1 on a DVDR)

    Having studied the SKY+ documentation what sort of programmes are protected to prevent copying for instance are movies ?
     
  2. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    it will record in 5.1 and will playback in 5.1 if you when you watch it from your personal planner, when you copy to vhs it records as stereo with the added information to allow you to get dpl sound when viewed back on suitable equipment, i dont think you can archive any movies copied from sky box office to vcr or disk
     
  3. ajbeech

    ajbeech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been able to record DD5.1 and DTS tracks onto a DVDR using a DVD burner attached to my PC.
     
  4. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can use a Smart Scart from www.ktvision.com
    This will allow transfer of SBO to tape or dvd,and will also allow dvd-dvd
     
  5. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    Ajbeech - how do you do that?

    Also, how can a scart lead transfer digital video? They're analogue I thought. Smart Scarts may be high quality, but how can they be digital? The blurb on the website clearly says - digital video transfer. I think not.
     
  6. bluebaron

    bluebaron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quite right. It's not possible. These leads will strip out macrovision on the analogue signal to a VCR, DVDR etc..

    I have not been able to find a hack anywhere to convert the Sky file format to something that could be digitally transferred to a PC.

    It would be great if there was one though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice