Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

DD/AC3 from WM9/Xvid files ?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Matt Horne, Jun 9, 2004.

  1. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +136
    I have a episode of kingdom hospital (xvid) in AC3 and various WM9 movies none of which I can get DD out of on my AMP.

    I am using the AC3filter codec.. and I have to set it to filter AC3 to get sound from the KH episode.. and the WM9's I have seem to be PCM?? (Spiderman/Hp2)

    Are any of the WM9 movies actually dolby digital ? I have no problems feeding a DD stream to my amp on the TS movies ??

    Do I need to use a different player rather than mediaplayer ?


    Cheers

    Matt
     
  2. lagertop

    lagertop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Vienna
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Matt,
    I had the exact same problem yesterday. After trying most of the settings in the AC3Filter I found out you have to select the option spdif (disabled) on the main options page.

    The settings for the spdif pass through dont seem to make any difference. I think its the name thats confusing, i originally thought that "spdif (disabled)", really did disable it. BTW I'm using v1.01a of the ac3filter. Hope this helps

    Forgot u might want to also set the "default audio renderer" to wave out rather than Direct sound

    Regards
    Mark
     
  3. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +136
    Thanks...

    after searching the web I eventually foudn that as well.... clear as mud :)

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  4. Eson

    Eson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When dealing with WMA-sound as in WM9-files you have to have something that can decode on the fly, luckily the ac3-filter v1 was just released and its the first software capable of this. Earlier you had to have a nforce2board with soundstorm. All this is regarding sending the signal digital that is. No problem when youre analog.
     
  5. JNMaster

    JNMaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +58
    Thanks ever so much lagertop, I've been trying for ages to get 5.1 out of xvid with my external decoder, proves I should have just checked avforums first, heh. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice