DD 5.1 Connections?

reggieroo

Novice Member
Hi,

I'm new to all this & I've just ordered Sky HD & am ready to order my new HD TV & also a PS3.

I need to know how to connect all of this to my amp so I've got DD 5.1 all the time on all the equipment.

I've got a Sony amp with two digital inputs an optical input which I connect to my PS2 & DVD player is through digital coaxial.

It seems to me that I'll have to keep pulling out my equipment to swap the optical over from my PS3 to the HD box.

I'm hoping I've got this wrong & you guys will give me the right advise.

By the way I haven't picked the TV yet as I'm waiting to see what inputs I might need on the back of it.

I was going to go for the Samsung 52" LCD M87 series.

Any advise would be much appreciated ;)

Broadz

Distinguished Member
Remember, with Sky you won't get DD5.1 all the time - only some HD programmes and some of the movies are in DD5.1. The majority of programmes, and a hefty number of movies, are only in stereo (or even mono). If you definitely want to keep your PS3 in the loop as well as Sky and your DVD player, then you need to invest in either a new amp with three or more digital audio inputs, or look to see whether there is some kind of splitter that can take two optical inputs (from your Playstation and your Sky box) and feed either signal through to the one optical input on your amplifier.

Alternatively, you could look at getting a TV which accepts optical input and has an optical output and also has two HDMI slots, in which case you could feed the TV digital audio and video via HDMI from the Playstation (I think the PS3 outputs full DD5.1 via HDMI), via HDMI and optical from your Sky HD box, then feed the optical out from the TV to the amplifier.

Andy98765

Distinguished Member