1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DC via VGA

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by fuzzybee, Jan 10, 2004.

  1. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    I did a very silly thing about two months ago and sold my modded Jap DC and most of my games (i have a habit of doing silly things) i regret it badly. However i did keep the majority of 2d beatemups i had so it isn't all bad, recently i managed to purchase a mint boxed blaze VGA adaptor for a fiver(which was nice) what i need to know is how good is the DC via VGA, take into account i own a 42inch plasma which it will be played on.
    Is it worth me buying another DC(i should own one anyway) to sample the delights of VGA gaming and how does a pal & ntsc console differ if any via VGA.
    Also do the none RGB compatable games like Vampire Chronicles, SSFIIX etc work via VGA ????
     
  2. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +557
    i used to play my DC (b4 i sold it) via a VGA box on my 20 ins Pc monitor. The quality was superb. I am thinking about buying
    another one!!
     
  3. evilash

    evilash
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    brighton
    Ratings:
    +6
    i have the vga cable going through a modded dc usa and uk compatible and it's fantastic but you are right about a certain number of games not being compatible with vga. jo jos bizarre adventure spring to mind. still worth it though imho....
     
  4. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    i will soon be experencing dc via vga on a hs10 projecter,
    hope it lives up to my expectation. still some fab games on the dc.
    Altho Code Veronica is another one of those games that wont work on vga.
     
  5. Pulsar

    Pulsar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands - Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +292
    Fuzzybee,

    I have PM'd you with details on where to find a Jap Dreamcast.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  6. EffTee

    EffTee
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    The blaze VGA adapter works great. I must have spent hundreds of hours playing Virtua Tennis 2 on my Dad's LCD projector. The image is absolutely pin-sharp.

    Never tried it on my plasma - just haven't enough connections - but every reason to believe it would look very good.

    The games that don't support it are quite rare. I only remember finding one that couldn't output VGA.

    EffTee
     
  7. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Thanks for the replys guys, does a pal DC differ from a ntsc console in how it displays ?? what i mean is does a pal DC via VGA display a fullscreen image with every game, even those with no 60hz option :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...