1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DC progressive scan?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by Hitcher, Aug 21, 2003.

  1. Hitcher

    Hitcher
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can the Dreamcast do prog. scan or at least output in component?

    If so, what leads do I need?
     
  2. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    Most DC games support Prog Scan via the VGA output box. Not sure about component though, i would think not without some kind of converter.
     
  3. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    VGA is effectively progressive scan. Have a look on Scancom.ltd.uk for vga to component convertors.

    Neil.
     
  4. Hitcher

    Hitcher
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +1
    Too expensive.

    I was hoping there was someway of at least getting a component signal out of it by modding a lead (similar to the RGB lead for the GC where a component and analogue lead a wired up to output RGB) but obviously not.
     
  5. EffTee

    EffTee
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hitcher,

    What do you want to display the image on? Like NeilMcRae & SeaneyC say, the VGA output is a progressive image - and looks superb on an LCD projector and on my plasma.

    EffTee
     
  6. Hitcher

    Hitcher
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +1
    I wanted to display it on my Toshiba 28ZD26P, the same as my GC, PS2 and Xbox.
     
  7. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Nope,
    the signals are completely different I'm afraid. One of the virtues of a VGA port on a Plasma

    Neil.
     

Share This Page

Loading...