1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

davs500 handset hack

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by 18j, Aug 17, 2002.

  1. 18j

    18j
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it appears that the sony can be multiregioned through a handset that can only be used once and then must be returned to www.dvdchips.co.uk anyone used this or knows any other company with this handset.
    cheers
    wayne
     
  2. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    there is no other company offering this
     
  3. 18j

    18j
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks mate, I thought so as I could'nt find it anywhere else, have you tried the conpany or know anyone that has?
     
  4. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes , works perfectly and fast delivery
     
  5. 18j

    18j
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    took your advice,ordered on tues morn the remote arrived wed multi regioned by the afternoon excellent service but you only get one go at it for your money.
    cheers.
     
  6. guyb

    guyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leamington Spa
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi,

    Can you give me more details on the hack. What did you have to do, was it hard to do and can you break the DAV-S500 if you do it wrong. Are there any side effects etc. And how much did it cost.

    Thanks

    Guy
     
  7. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's quite simple , follow the instructions to get your player into the Diagnostic menu then point the remote and press and hold the red key , now switch the player off and it's done. No side effects just multiregion
     
  8. guyb

    guyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leamington Spa
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks, I think that I will give it a go. I will let you know how I get on.
     
  9. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well ? did it work okay ?
     
  10. guyb

    guyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leamington Spa
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yes I have done it. It worked perfectly. I am very, very impressed. I have heard plenty of placing doing solderless/firmware upgrades for Sony machines but none that you can do in your own home. www.dvdchips.co.uk is on to a winner, they should advertise it or something so more people know about it.
     
  11. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    they do advertise it but seems that they dont want too many customers , see this quote from the DVD and Home Cinema Hardware Forum located at www.thedvdforums.com

     
  12. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...