DAV-S550 Optical Cable

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by sukicoop, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. sukicoop

    sukicoop
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trying to connect Optical Cable to DVD and Sky+ box. Bought one from Maplin for £29.99 which we had to take back as the connection wouldn't stay in the DVD. From the till receipt it was: N79FL PG TOS Ld 1.0m

    Does anyone know where we can buy one which will work? :lease:

    Hoping lots of people have done this as it's a few years old now.

    Thanks in advance for any help..... :)
     
  2. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,795
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,298
    Just get a £1.50 one from somewhere.

    Optical cables are optical cables. Doesn't matter if you spend £2 or £200.

    In my opinion, the more expensive cables are actually *worse* than the cheap ones because the cable and connectors are heavier.

    Maplin by the way have gone from being a good value electronics specialist to a wannabe Currys. The prices they charge for their cables are absolutely laughable.

    Homebase had some a little while ago for £3.99 - or there are plenty of mail order / eBay sellers selling them for a couple of quid.

    Steve
     
  3. sukicoop

    sukicoop
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok - the main problem was that the input "hole" on the sony dvd player had some kind of retaining clip at the bottom which seemed to stop the cable going all the way in - do you think sony have done this so that we have to go to them to get a special cable?
     
  4. hammer man

    hammer man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,760
    I also have a 550 and used a standard optical lead.
     
  5. JH4

    JH4
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +299
    The optical socket should just have a (dust) flap through which you push the optical plug into. You will have to swivel the plug a little in order to get it fully into the socket. There should'nt be any clip, though. There is an optical lead with a slightly different type of plug, which you may have bought by mistake, of course. This is used for portable devices, usually. Maplin will tell you, if you ask them. ( Don't agree with the comparison with Currys tho - chalk and cheese, imo.)
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  6. sukicoop

    sukicoop
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dunno what's going on with ours, we bought another lead from Curry's on Sat and that too won't stay in the socket. Our socket certainly looks like a standard socket fit, flat at the bottom and rounded on the top - like a tunnel entrance :) but still won't stay in. We're gonna take this one back too. I've attached a photo, the clip we're referring to is at the bottom of the hole, where it should slide in, there's a little piece of metal - doh! I know very sad but this is very frustrating....
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2009
  7. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,795
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,298
    Blu-tac?
     
  8. JH4

    JH4
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +299
    I'm stating the obvious here, but don't forget to take off the small plastic dust cover from the plug ends of the lead, before you insert it in the socket.
    That socket does look a bit chewed up, though.
     
  9. hammer man

    hammer man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,760
    I must admit that was my first thought, although it has been ages since I ventured behind my system.
     
  10. sukicoop

    sukicoop
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone for responses, checked we've done everything you've suggested but to no avail. Don't honestly think there's anything else we can do, :suicide: maybe it was a dodgy fitting when we bought it years ago but we've only just tried to use the optical cable.

    Thanks again everyone, this is a brilliant site, very helpful :)
     
  11. sciencegeek1

    sciencegeek1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see your post is older but if you haven't solved the problem yet you can try wrapping teflon plumbers tape (used in the USA) around the cable end to add bulk to fit the hole. Be careful not to block the light! I too have this problem on all of my Onkyo receivers to the point I stopped using optical digital cables. It seems the weight of the cable is too heavy for the small end to hold. I do not misuse my system and it has been this way since day one. I have never found an answer on any post as to why this happens. I bought Monster cables and paid a lot for them but stopped using them because of this issue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...