1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DAV-S550 - no rear channels with pro-logic?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by sabre2, Sep 8, 2003.

  1. sabre2

    sabre2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I've just bought a DAV-S550, and hooked it up to the L+R phono outputs on my video, and similarly on the Panasonic sky box. The rear speakers are definitely working (I get surround with DVDs), but they are silent when playing from the VCR and sky box. I was kind of expecting to breathe new life into my videos, which I know have Dolby soundtracks.

    Am I wrong? Is there some setting somewhere I need to change?

    Regards
    John
     
  2. cdave

    cdave
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you got the sound field set on "2 channel stereo"? If so, no sound will come out of the rear speakers.

    If not as above, what have you got the "amp" setting on and what is the "sound feild" setting?
     
  3. the_sanguine

    the_sanguine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +7
    Are these Dolby Digital or just Pro-Logic?
     
  4. cdave

    cdave
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    D/digital, DTS etc
     
  5. the_sanguine

    the_sanguine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +7
    Is it the one to go for in that price range then? Not the Tosh or Pioneer?
     
  6. sabre2

    sabre2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I've figured it out now - the information needed is dotted about in a number of different places in the manual. Not helpful!

    John
     
  7. GeordieKeith

    GeordieKeith
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what is it John, I have the same problem with my 550. Although mine is away to be fixed at the moment I would be interested in getting all speakers to work with the Digital TV?

    Keith
     
  8. sabre2

    sabre2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Coo, off the top of my head...

    You have to get the right settings on the Sound Field menu and the Amp menu. The former set to 'normal decode' (I think) and the in latter you have to find '2 Channel Mode' and set it to Pro Logic or Pro LogicII. Not to be confused with a similar sounding thing in the 'Sound Field' menu...

    John
     
  9. DDDavo

    DDDavo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, i am looking at buying a DAVs 550

    Can this unit actually make stereo sound come through all 5 speakers then, and not just the two at the front?

    Many Thanks
    Dave
     
  10. sabre2

    sabre2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dave

    If you have a source such as a Sky box or VCR with stereo (analogue) outputs, and the stereo is in Dolby Prologic (or PrologicII) format, then the DAV-S550 will decode it and give you surround - but not as tasty as the surround you get off a DVD. There's some info on the Dolby web site as to how this works, but in summary it's done by magic using highly trained, very small elves.

    The DAV has two sets of inputs ('video 1' and 'video 2') on the back for two stereo analogue sources (I've got mine hooked up to the Sky box and VCR). It also has an optical input which doubles up on one of these two inputs - mines connected to an Xbox. The optical input takes priority (if you switch the Xbox on, it automatically assumes that as the input) and gives digital 5.1 surround.

    Regards
    John
     
  11. DDDavo

    DDDavo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers. What about plain old ordinary stereo, will it chuck that through all 5 speakers, (although it won't be full 5.1?)

    Many Thanks
     
  12. duncs

    duncs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DDDavo

    I run my TV or play a CD though my DAVS550 and set the decoding to PrologicII. I can confirm that this gives sound through all speakers.

    The Surround sound is suprisingly good although you may find a few glitches. Also on some programs, I find that the sound can be very quiet on the rear speakers but Prologic will never be perfect.

    So, yes, Stereo will come out through all speakers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...