dark rgb problem

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by puc, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. puc

    puc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    hi

    i'm trying to connect up my system in the best way
    phillips pw6006 tv
    panasonic e55 dvd recorder
    pace sky digital box

    if i try pace tv out-panny av2, panny av1-tv rgb input (ext 1)
    then the output from the skybox is very dark for some reason(yes, all settings use rgb)

    compromise i have now is

    pace tv-out- phillips ext1
    pace vcr-out- panny av2
    panny av1- philips ext2 (not rgb)

    now this works ok but i cant watch dvd in rgb or record from sky in rgb

    anyone have any suggestions? there must be a way round this.
     
  2. preston

    preston
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    There should be a contrast setting somewhere in the sky menu (Picture Settings - I think). This may give you a less darker picture.
     
  3. musukebba

    musukebba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Macrovision interference from your VCR? Leave it out and see what happens...
     
  4. puc

    puc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    no its not the contrast setting, tried that

    no vcr in the system so its not macrovision

    seems that passing the signal through the e55 makes the rgb picture quality dark

    any ideas anyone?
     
  5. johnjackthom

    johnjackthom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +289
    Is the signal dark whether the E55 is ON or in standby?

    If RGB passthrough is OK with DVDR in standby it could be a faulty E55.
     
  6. griff01

    griff01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +10
    try some good quality scart lead's see if that help's
     
  7. couchspud

    couchspud
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's your telly mate.

    If you have a look in the Television forums on this site and search on 'dark rgb 6006' you'll see what I mean.

    I've got exactly the same setup as you and have resigned myself to recording and playing back in composite.

    Whatever you do, don't think you'll solve the problem by investing in 'quality' scart cables like I did.
     
  8. preston

    preston
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have the same problem with my JVC TV (AV32R25). Increasing the contrast in the Sky menu seems to help. If not then if your DVD player/recorder outputs S-Video then this may be your best bet ie let the the DVD player/recorder convert the (best) RGB sky signal to (2nd best) S-Video. Composite has to be the last resort.

    I still use RGB but occasional press the TV button on the Sky remote to switch to Composite if the program has a lot of night scenes.

    Good Luck!
     
  9. Steveford77

    Steveford77
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tonbridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have exactly the same problem - same TV, same Pace sky+ box and the E65 DVD recorder. I sent my first DVD recorder back as I thought it was a scart connection problem but second one exactly the same. Cannot understand why simply passing scart through the DVD changes the picture.
     
  10. couchspud

    couchspud
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers, but I've already tried that. The S-video is very grainy and noticably worse than composite. This is probably down to my cable which was bundled free with something and I should buy another, but to be honest I've spent a small fortune on IXOS and Thor SCART cables lately and simply can't justify the risk or the cash!
     
  11. puc

    puc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    thanks for the replies

    looks like its s-video then. still dont understand why the tv can handle rgb from the skybox but not from a dvd player!

    any settings in the tv service menu that'll help?
     
  12. couchspud

    couchspud
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the TV forums, there's a CL value that you can alter to 8 (from 5), but mine is already 8! Alternatively, you can get Philips to come out an take your telly away, fix the RGB problem, charge you and then drop your telly back again. No thanks.

    Personally, I'm going to put up with s-vid or composite on DVD playback and record and save up for a new bigger telly. That works!
     
  13. preston

    preston
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    If the rgb signal direct from stb to the TV is fine but isn't when it passes through the e55 then I sugest you return the e55 and find a recorder that will work with your setup. After all you could have bought a cheaper DVD recorder without RGB in.
     
  14. couchspud

    couchspud
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is just my opinion:
    From what I've read on the subject, It seems that Philips tellys are using an out of range RGB signal. Sky know about it, Philips know about it too and cater for it. Philips DVD recorders and players work fine with their TV's, but competitors products don't.
    Mmmmm.....
     
  15. preston

    preston
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    Interesting! Does this mean that changing the DVD recorder to anything other than a Philips recorder will result in the same problem?

    Might still be worth borrowing freind's/family's kit to see what works with the TV and what doesn't.

    Of course half the problem is knowing that you are not getting the best signal. Composite looks pretty good on my setup but it's the knowledge that it's not the best signal possible that drives me mad. :suicide:
     
  16. Steveford77

    Steveford77
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tonbridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem - and so will try s-video from DVD to TV - and keep RGB scart from Sky to DVD. I am confused about S video cables. Does the one cable carry sound and picture?

    IS http://***********/3w79o what I am looking for? If so, any other manufacturers you recommend?

    Thanks
     
  17. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    No.
    If you use a standard s-video cable (mini-din at each end) then you have to have separate audio cables for R amd L audio. These would have RCA jacks.

    A fully wired scart carries s-video and audio from scart to scart, assuming the 'sender' is set to send s-video and the 'receiver' scart socket able to receive it.
    On TVs s-video and RGB scart inputs are often mutually exclusive.
    This looks like an s-video to scart and would be used to carry the video signal only. You would need audio cables too.

    If you are using scart-scart for DVD to TV just set the DVD to s-video and make sure the TV scart is s-video enabled. It will switch automatically when it receives an s-video signal.

    As your post isn't clear about the sockets you want to use it's not possible to suggest variations with s-video sockets at either or both ends.
    Cables 1088 and 1087 here http://www.astarsolutions.co.uk/products/?pc=1088&c=e&sc=119
    do s-video == scart conversions. The difference is the wiring of the audio pins inside the scart which has separate pins for audio in and out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...