1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Damaged TOS Link cable?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Oakey, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. Oakey

    Oakey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    My TOS Link that I use for my Xbox / PS2 seems to be no longer working. I've tried in both consoles and nothing. I momentarily got some signal through with the Xbox before losing it again. I can't see any noticeable kinks in the cable, or bends or anything to indicate it's damaged and the red light still comes out the end, yet no signal. Is it broke? Anything I can try to salvage it?

    thanks
     
  2. loadsofleads

    loadsofleads
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you use the same cable for both consoles, i mean do you keep switching from one to the other every time you want to play a different console, because if you are, that can't be good for the cable, especially if it a cheap jobbie.
    Try changing to another optical connection on your receiver, that might be the weak link :thumbsup:
     
  3. Oakey

    Oakey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yeah, that's what I've been doing. The cable is quite thick though and as I said, the red light still appears at the other end, surely this indicates the signal would be getting through?
     
  4. dishdoc

    dishdoc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Toon ! !
    Ratings:
    +24
    I have the same problem, the 6 metre optical cable runs under the floor from from my hi fi rack - with xbox on, to my amp - on my av rack. This worked for about a week, then just stopped :thumbsdow
    The 6 mtr lead was fairly new, but think I'm going to have to replace it - hopefully before 360 arrives :D

    Regards,

    Dishdoc
     
  5. ScottC25

    ScottC25
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just had the same thing happen to me. Optical cable ran under the floor(laminate) and I think people walking on the floor have damaged it. They do appear to be quite delicate. Have ordered a new 10m one and will be running it round the edges of the room this time so that no one stands on it
     
  6. dishdoc

    dishdoc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Toon ! !
    Ratings:
    +24
    hi Scott

    Where did you get the cable from, and was it expensive?

    Regards,

    dishdoc
     

Share This Page

Loading...