Daft question alert!

Dony

Outstanding Member
Reaction score
I have a set of 3 DECT Panasonic phone's in the house. I need to buy another handset but the model I have is discontinued.

Can I just buy any single phone and plug it in or will the new handset need "paired" to the main base phone?

Last edited:
Dony - I am no expert, however my understanding is that you can buy another phone but it will need to be connected to its own telephone line. So as long as you have another phone line in the place you want to connect the new phone then it will be no problems

If you buy an any additional handset by Panasonic (new model?), you may be able to pair it to the existing base-station.

Can't be certain though, sorry.

Any GAP (Generic Access Profile) compatible DECT handset should pair with any GAP DECT base station. If you pair different brands/models you may lose functionality & only be able to make/receive calls. Things like caller display & internal calling/transfer may not work.

I'd suggest buying the nearest Panasonic equivalent although you can often pick up spare handsets for discontinued models on Ebay.

Last edited:
The idea of the DECT standard was that different handsets will be compatible. I've got a Fritzbox system with four handsets. I still had a few handsets from an old BT Siemens system, so have added two to the Fritzbox. The BT handsets don't offer all the features, but they work exactly as they originally did with the BT basestation.

I would expect the Panasonic handsets to be just as flexible.

HTH,

Ian

Thanks all.....since it's going into a bedroom, and will get minimal use, I've decided just to order an analogue phone. There's a phone socket next to the bed anyway and it saves any hassle of non-compatibility.

Thanks all.....since it's going into a bedroom, and will get minimal use, I've decided just to order an analogue phone. There's a phone socket next to the bed anyway and it saves any hassle of non-compatibility.