1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Daft question about PAL PS and component output

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by stricko, Jan 24, 2004.

1. stricko

stricko

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I guess I'm a beginner here, but I'd appreciate a little help regarding progressive scan and/or component output.

I'm looking for a new DVD player (see other threads for the sorry saga) to maximise picture quality on a Pioneer PDP433MXE plasma. I've got a right old mix of PAL and NTSC DVD's.

I've assumed all along that component output will give the best output, and from what I've read here and elsewhere Prog Scan will give me the best results from the plasma (assuming the DVD is prog in the first place. See I have been reading up, honest)

My question is, should I be able to switch from interlaced to prog scan on the player;

a) using the component output
    b) without changing the settings on the plasma
    c) will things behave differently for PAL and NTSC material

The reason for the question is that I'm trying to understand what is going on with my CA DVD-57. I can't tell what type of picture I'm seeing. RS Tehnical Support don't seem too sure about the box eiither.

I'll be taking the CA box back, but I'd like to be more sure of waht a player is supposed to be doing before I get a replacement.

If this has been discussed elsewhere, just point me to the right thread/article.

Many thanks in anticipation

2. Family Guy

Family Guy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    The CA is outputting Pal PS as NTSC PS. It dosen't output "true" Pal PS. It really can ruin the image...the Yamaha 540 outputs true Pal PS is is a shede over £100 at RS...if I was you, I'd give it a try. In fact I did - 3 months ago and have still got it!! Which is a record for me...:rolleyes:

3. Dutch

Dutch

Products Owned: