1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DAEWOO DP-42SP from Richer Sounds

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by ntranced, Aug 12, 2004.

1. ntranced

ntranced
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just bought a DP-42SP from Richer Sounds for £1400, after looking at the Techwood and a Goodmans model a friend got from Argos while they were selling them at £1499.

While I'm extremely happy with it (albeit I'm no expert) I am troubled by the quality of the sky+ picture. DVD is outstanding, and I'm aware that sky+ do compress the picture a little etc etc (and it has settled a bit as the days go on as well).

However, I was under the impression that SVHS was a better connection than Scart, and as the DAEWOO has no Scart connection (has virtually everything else) I have no choice but to use SVHS. Is there a better way to do it? Can I get a Scart board? is there a Scart to RGB lead or something? Or will it not make any difference anyway?

Thanks in advance, haven't seen the Daewoo mentioned on here a lot so if anyone does want any info on it for some bizarre reason feel free to ask ;)

2. Steve_P

Steve_P

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +142
    My understanding is that SCART is a connection specification not a video signal standard. Typically SCART cables can carry composite, S-video or RGB signals with composite being the crudest form of signal and RGB just edging out infront of S-video in terms of PQ. Ignoring VGA and the latest formats of DVI/HDMI usually the best pictures come from a component feed (3 RCA phono connectors usually coloured red, green & blue). So whilst your Daewoo does not have any SCART sockets, strange for a euro spec set, you should be able to make use of the other sockets to good effect assuming they're not all composite inputs (single yellow RCA phono connector).

S.

3. ntranced

ntranced