Question DAC and Amp Suggestions for HD800S

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by JNicko, Nov 3, 2017.

1. JNicko

JNicko
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey all,
    I've just recently upgraded my cans from 650's to 800S, but still have only my humble Fiio E10k to power my 800S as both the Dac and Amp.

So my question is, what's a good dac / amp setup to buy with a budget of £350-ish but pushing to about £500 if the value of the extra money is evident?

I had my eyes on a Schiit Magni + Mogni combo, but I can honestly admit that I've no experience in amps and dacs.

Given that the 800S comes with a 4 pin balanced cable, would it be worth looking for a decent balanced amp?

Thanks

Sidenote: Accidentally posted this in the wrong sub forum, so this is a re-post :)

2. JNicko

JNicko
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Self bump

Been reading good things about the Schiit Jotunheim, anyone here got experience with it?

3. Scoop007

Scoop007

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    I haven't used the Jotunheim. But was considering it at one point. It gets really good reviews, with lot's saying it's the best amp anywhere close to it's price point. However, the reason i never went for it in the end is: I have owned a Schitt stack in the past. I liked it a lot with my 600's, but not so much with my 800's. A bright amp, paired with bright headphones. Had the Graham slee ultra linear DE and thought that was slightly less harsh, fuller bass and so preferred it. I heard that although not as bright as my stack, the Jot is still on the bright side of neutral.
    Your 650's, i wouldn't hesitate to think it will pair well. A little extra sparkle.