1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DAC 24b/192kHz : how to be sure ?

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by shacard, Nov 16, 2004.

  1. shacard

    shacard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've find a av32r bp 192. (i hae a av 32r 24/96 7.1)

    how to be certain that it has 24b/192kHz DAC ?

    Serge.
     
  2. Neo X

    Neo X
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shacard,

    I think that the bp192 logo on the front panel will indicate which DAC the unit has.
     
  3. @Home

    @Home
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +79
    It will also sound much smoother and more detailed.
     
  4. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Every unit with bp has 192kHz DACs
     
  5. shacard

    shacard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    But in the case of a hardware upgrade, you can choose to buy 5.1 bypass OR 24/192 DAC :eek:

    I don't know if the unit is a 'true' av32r bp 192 or an av32r with bp and 192 DAC upgrade...

    Serge.
     
  6. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, it was never possible to choose that
     
  7. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +165
    shacard

    Yes you are correct you could upgrade one Or the other

    192 Dacs upgrade exc shipping £475 for 7.1 Unit £395 for 5.1 Unit

    5.1 Bypass upgrade exc shipping £685 without the 192 Dacs

    For both Upgrades

    5.1 Unit £795
    7.1 Unit £845
     
  8. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0

    OK if you say so.
    But I exactly remember this, I asked both my dealer and TAG directly at the time and the answer was no bp without 192!

    If this is true I see no way how to differ between unit with ans without 192kHz DACs without lifting the lid.
     
  9. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +165
    Had the same problem should i update or sell and buy and bp192 unit.

    Rang got the quotes and decided to sell

    Got the Tag Mclaren Retail price list in front of me :D
     
  10. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +165
    "If this is true I see no way how to differ between unit with ans without 192kHz DACs without lifting the lid.


    Ring the helpdesk with the serial number Phil will be able to tell you over the phone
     
  11. shacard

    shacard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. Thanks for your help.

    Serge.
     
  12. shacard

    shacard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking for a picture of an avr32bp192 front panel with its bp192 logo.

    Serge.
     
  13. Dr Udo Zucker

    Dr Udo Zucker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +35
    Hi Serge, here is the interesting part. Hope it helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. shacard

    shacard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Udo. That's exactly the same front panel that is in my living room since yesterday :smashin:

    Do you have a complete back panel picture ? There is no such picture in the setup manual :rolleyes:

    Serge.
     

Share This Page

Loading...