D800 to D7500/D500 for birds

WozzaB

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
I've been using a D800 for a few years now, I originally got it as a multipurpose camera, wildlife, landscape, streets etc.
I now find myself pretty much only doing wildlife shots, mainly birds. I use a Sigma 150-600mm C with the D800, I have been doing a bit of reading and I might be better with a DX body as I tend to crop in a lot with the FX body as the subjects are usually a fair distance away.
I was looking at the D7200, then the D7500 was mentioned when reading reviews and then obviously the D500 then popped into the conversations.
They all seem to be a better option for birds than the D800, faster FPS for action, better AF on the D7500 & D500 from what I gather, plus a few more benefits.

Anyone got any advice on this, I can't really see a downside apart from losing the FX sensor and higher MP?

Being FF the D800 will give a better image quality than the D7500 and the D500 but yes the crop factor of 1.5x for the same lens on the DX sensor compared to the FX sensor means the field of view is magnified.

If you haven't already you can compare them all at the site below.

This article compares DX vs FX which may be of interest.

Upvote 0
What about using 1.4 TC with the lens?

Upvote 0
I've been using a D800 for a few years now, I originally got it as a multipurpose camera, wildlife, landscape, streets etc.
I now find myself pretty much only doing wildlife shots, mainly birds. I use a Sigma 150-600mm C with the D800, I have been doing a bit of reading and I might be better with a DX body as I tend to crop in a lot with the FX body as the subjects are usually a fair distance away.
I was looking at the D7200, then the D7500 was mentioned when reading reviews and then obviously the D500 then popped into the conversations.
They all seem to be a better option for birds than the D800, faster FPS for action, better AF on the D7500 & D500 from what I gather, plus a few more benefits.