• D750 and use my 50mm 1.4

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Mirrorless!

Votes: 2 33.3%

• Total voters

steeevvvooo

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I am an amateur photographer but major gadget/tech fan in need of some guidance. After purchasing a D3100 a few years ago and using sporadically I recently purchased the Nikon 50mm 1.4 fx lense and have the photography bug all over again. I am using in aperture priority mostly but am learning more about manual shooting through sites like this and various other resources. I love the improvement this has given me over the kit lense and now want to take the next step.

Assume I have about $1000 to spend on gear.... what should I do to improve my set up alongside learning more about the art? (I know some will say to spend the money on education but I want to spend it on gear and learn as I go). I am more concerned with quality over quantity and don’t really want to have a ton of lenses and gear to carry around. Most of my shooting will be family portraits and events (1 month old baby, and I want to capture the moments along the way) as well as some travel and street scenes. My wife will also be using my set up and whilst I am teaching her about aperture priority and Bokeh she is a lot less interested in the tech than me and may end up in auto mode quite often.

A few options I am considering:

1. Do nothing. Keep the D3100 and 50mm 1.4. “The camera is currently better than your skills...” etc

1. Buy a 7200 for about $7-800. Sounds like I would gain better autofocus, increase MP, higher ISO and in body focus as well as some other features and two scroll wheels. All sound worthy of the upgrade cost to me? If I sell the D3100 kit I could consider another lense but worry that to stay in budget I would only be buying a DX lense that could be a false economy if I go FX later?