1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D70 Continuous shooting mode

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Madcarpy, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. Madcarpy

    Madcarpy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    Been a while since I looked in on this site and I am aware that I still have not got round to posting any of my pics :nono: I will soon :)

    I have a question....

    I have not had the best of luck since I bought mine a few months ago. The sensor was seriously contaminated with dust but thankfully Jessops just did a straight swap with a new body.

    The sensor is now fine but I have noticed a marked difference when using continuous shooting mode. With the first body I am certain I was getting very near if not around 3 frames per second.

    The 'new' camera just doesn't seem to be able to acheive that. I reckon I am lucky to get 2 frames per second :(

    I went back to Jessops today and the guy suggested that I should download the firmware update and this should help. Well....... it has not.

    I'm beginnig to think its something I'm doing but no matter what I do, it still struggles to take 2 per second.

    Anyone else come across this 'problem' with continuous mode?

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try manual everything including focus to see if some setting is slowing it?
     
  3. Madcarpy

    Madcarpy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried that Robert and virtually the same speed. No change :(

    Just timed again and its taking 2 seconds for 3 frames. :(
     
  4. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are a couple of D70 owners here. They will be able to help you more. Bound to be around before too long.
     
  5. rdhir

    rdhir
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    are you using the same flash card in both situations and what make(s) are they?
     
  6. paulc1

    paulc1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    turn off the noise reduction feature and see the difference in speed. :smashin:

    a bit that I have cut and pasted from ken Rockwells D70 review. below

    Selectable long exposure noise cancellation (NR) mode. Watch it, the camera only runs half as fast even at short shutter speeds when you set this. I wish the camera were smart enough to disengage this mode automatically at fast shutter speeds. You may or may not want to set it for time exposures and definitely want to leave it off (the default) for normal use.
     
  7. Radiohead

    Radiohead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    4,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Amazingstoke
    Ratings:
    +433
    I can squeeze off 3fps or thereabouts shooting RAW without any trouble on my D70. Have to say I haven't read of this as a known issue with D70's, so maybe you're just being unlucky.
     
  8. Madcarpy

    Madcarpy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +0
    Paul, thanks for that :)

    Yep, its much faster with the NR off :clap: :clap:
     
  9. paulc1

    paulc1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28

Share This Page

Loading...