Cyrus Speaker help

Psrv37

Novice Member
Hi all,

New member and complete novice here. I've recently been given my Dad's 'hand-me-down' Cyrus 8 xpd qx amp, and and 8se2 CD player. I understand from reading forums it can be a bit tricky to match speakers to Cyrus equipment - which isn't made easier by the fact I'm not really sure how to go about doing it. So I was wondering if you could help?

I've enough space for floor standing speakers, and don't mind buying them second hand. Is it possible to get something under a £1000 that will sound ok with the equipment?

Someone has also mentioned to me adding an x power amp, and using the 8 as a pre-amp, but presumably this will just mean needing even more expensive speakers?

acgingersnaps

Hi
Have you had the opportunity to go and listen to some speakers? That small Cyrus footprint makes it relatively straight forwards for you to take it with you. It will give you a much better idea of the sort of sound that you like running through it.
By the way, more power won't mean you have to get more expensive speakers, it will just widen your options.

ShanePJ

AVForums Sponsor
If you're looking for a few suggestions, I'd say put some of below speakers on you're list as they will all give something and one should stand out along the way if you are taking you're own amp

For me, I'd either say the Acoustics Energy or Focal as the top choices for different experiences, but as all us perceive musical performances differently, you really need to trust you're on ears and ignore everything else

Acoustics Energy AE309, Dali Oberon 7, Wharfedale Evo 4.3, Mission QX-5, Focal Chorus 716

mark6226

Hi all,