1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Customize AMD Computer - Reccomended online stores

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Frazal666, Jul 14, 2005.

  1. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone,

    After reading some reviews and comparisons between the Pentium D 840 and the atlon xp 64 X2 4800, I decided I wanted the Atlon. I absolutely love the ease of customozing the computer at Dell, but they do not sell AMD Proccesors.

    Does anyone know any trusted online stores in which I can do that? Please make sure You reccomend me a store that will not take all my money, as I am planning on spending quite a bit on my new system.

    I would prefer a store such as Dell, in which they are an actual manufacturer, as that way I know that I will not be fruaded.

    Thanks.
     
  2. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
  3. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    Mesh have a configuration tool and do AMD64 options also. Worth a look though I cannot vouch for their quality.
     
  4. Paul Shirley

    Paul Shirley
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +174
  5. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks guys. Sorry about what happened to reznor, as well as you Paul. I probaly won't buy anything from them, since you have experienced disgraceful service from them.

    I have a problem customizing my computer (at mesh), there are no dual core athlons on any 32-bit windows. I heard that 32-bit drivers (which ill probaly be using) will not work under windows xp 64. any help?
     
  6. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    The online configurator is not the be all and end all of Mesh, Dell or any other retailers service. If you want a dual core machine with 32bit windows installed then phone and tell them thats what you want. However, what drivers are you talking about because 64bit support is improving daily and there should be workarounds for most newer hardware.
     
  7. The Dude

    The Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,245
    Hi,

    Overclockers.co.uk are a safe bet, I've made nearly all my purchases from there over the last few years, without a single problem so far. Delivery times are usually really good too.

    :smashin:
     
  8. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,938
    Terrible company, a quick search on google, usually explains everything!
     
  9. The Dude

    The Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,245
    I must just be lucky then.. :smashin:

    I've spent over £3k with overclockers this year alone, and haven't had to chase a single package, ever.

    Sure you're talking about the same company here? have you ordered from them yourself or are you just qouting internet 'knowledge'? :rotfl:

    Seems odd that i've never had a single gripe with them, been ordering for years now..?
     
  10. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cable Monkey, well, if im using 32-bit applications, won't that mean that it will have 32-bit drivers? I want 32-bit xp pro, so that when im ready, I can upgrade to xp pro 64 using microsoft (or wherever I read I can do that).

    Apparently, barely any game developers have even started going into 64-bit, and I know that I will be playing loads of games. So if I try and play, because the drivers are in 32-bit, it wont work.

    Is that right?

    Ill check out overclockers and see what they have.

    Thnaks.
     
  11. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,938
    From personal expericence.
     
  12. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    Overclockers.co.uk are terrible. 3 orders from them and something wrong in every order and they never sorted the last 2 out (only ordered some artic silver and they couldn't get that right!)

    Although if you don't want to order from a company that someone has had a bad experience with, you aren't going to be ordering from anyone :devil:


    BTW...having read the thread about scan, I am not sure if they are truely at fault.....why did they go to illyama in the first instance (rather then Scan)?
    Then he sent it back unboxed and not properly packaged and it got broken in transit.....I guess its a harsh lesson, but a lesson none-the-less in what NOT to do when you receive faulty goods.
     
  13. Paul Shirley

    Paul Shirley
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +174
    You can run 32 bit apps on XP64 but NOT 32 bit drivers, M$ simply decided they won't allow them. If you're buying a configured system and they offer XP64 you should have no driver problems, just be very careful buying new stuff, driver support is still extremely patchy, seems no-one outside M$ is very interesting in XP64.

    Game developers aren't likely to rush into XP64 specific code until XP64 gets a lot more widespread and it doesn't really matter, on an AMD64 there should be little slowdown using 32 bit apps - an Intel system is a different story ;) Dual core support is likely to appear first because it offers more performance increase than the switch to 64bit.
     
  14. The Dude

    The Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,245
    Wierd... They've seriously always been fine with me..?

    I used to use Dabs.com pretty much exclusively until they gradually lost the plot over the last few years... their prices are good still but they need a bigger boat basically.. :D

    I've used overclockers for virtually every purchase since, practically the only things I don't buy from there are things they don't sell.

    I'll keep an eye out obviously if there are growing rumblings about them :rolleyes: , but I've always been confident buying there so far.. :)
     
  15. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    exactly, and as paul said, games arnt in 64-bit yet, so thay will have 32-bit drivers. The whole reason I want a new PC is to play high-end games, and I wont be able to do that with 32-bit drivers in 64-bit windows. Any ideas?

    If not, ill just try and call Mesh and ask if it is possible to give me the system I want as 32-bit xp pro.

    BTW, the system im looking at is the £1899 or £1499 gamer/x-treme PC. The 1899 has 2x 256mb nvidia 6800 le, while the 1499 has the nvidia 7800 gtx. which is better?

    Thnaks for all the help guys.
     
  16. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    I run an Athlon 64 with Windows 64 bit and play all my "high-end" games and applications just fine. In fact, most 32 bit software runs slightly faster on Windows 64 due to the OS itself just being a bit more responsive.

    There are a few things that wont run on Windows 64 but they are rare and wont run because the programmers have taken shortcuts or used unsupported ways to speed up their code.

    IMHO, The only problem with 64 bit Windows is making sure all your hardware has 64 bit drivers available. Currently printers and scanners aren't supported very well, everything else seems to be fine as long as it was made semi-recently.
     
  17. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what about older games? maybe just before 64-bit windows was announced?

    Anyway, ive sorted the problem. Ive chosen another computer, with just the athlon 64 x2 4400+, which is only very slightly slower, but a whole £224 cheaper!!! And I can choose the 32-bit windows.

    I was going to choose Home, but if I want to upgrade to 64-bit later, I have to give in a Pro edition to get the 64-bit windows, so i am going to choose 32-bit pro, and upgrade when im ready.

    Thanks for all your help guys, I really appreciate it.
     
  18. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    I still play an Unreal Tournament mods under xp64 (Tactical Ops)...

    Thats at least 5 years old.

    The only things I have tried that haven't worked were virtual cd/dvd apps.

    GL with the purchase.
     
  19. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    Dont know if they are reputable,what about,

    www.pcspecialist.co.uk they advertise in the computer shopper.
     
  20. fuzzb

    fuzzb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you could improve Dabs.com then what would you do? I am in a position to do something about it :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...