cue bug in pioneer dvd

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ofer40, May 26, 2005.

  1. ofer40

    ofer40
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi
    is there someone that have pioneer dvd player and noticed a bug that called cue?
    i intend to buy the pioneer 868avi and i here a lot of complains that all pioneer dvd players have this bug.
    thank you
     
  2. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,710
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Not sure about cue, but I have heard of some DVD players from Pioneer that have a chroma bug. Not sure what this was though and weather or not Pioneer have fixed it on later models :confused:
     
  3. ofer40

    ofer40
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes this is the same problem i'm talking about.
     
  4. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,710
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +223
  5. ofer40

    ofer40
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i need to know if there is a bug in pioneer 668 and 868 dvd players.
    the list is not up do date
     
  6. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,710
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Why not email Pioneer and see what they say?. I cant seem to find any up to date info on it so maybe thaye dont suffer from the problem any more. Sorry I cant be of any more help. :)
     
  7. ofer40

    ofer40
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi
    i did emailed pioneer but i'm not sure if i can trust their answers.
     
  8. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,710
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Well the only thing I can suggest is that you start another thread, but with the question.


    "Does the pioneer 868 suffer with the chroma/cue bug?"

    This may get a few more replys thanthe current question :)
     
  9. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    cue just means chroma upsampling error so is identical to chroma bug, however dont get that confused with ICP (interlaced chroma problem) which effects pretty much all dvd players interlaced output and looks similar to CUE

    do a google search for both so you can understand what each problem is and how it would effect your viewing
     
  10. mjw1999

    mjw1999
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +16
    668 does have this cue problem
    viewing toy storey on my hs50 projector looked horrible, it was outclassed by a £50 toshiba player.
    however i noticed no problems when connected to my 32 inch crt tv.
    i've now exchanged it for a denon 3910 which is truly awsome and would recomend this unit for big screen viewers even though its dearer.
     
  11. ofer40

    ofer40
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi
    i'm talking about 868 not 668.
    and did you connect through scart rgb or component?
    ofer
     
  12. APRBIMBO

    APRBIMBO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I Am The Proud Owner Of Two Pioneer Dvd Players Dv626 And Dv2750
    No Probs Here Mate Superb Machines Great Picture And Sound
     
  13. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    I dont think there is a single pioneer dvd player that dosent have cue and thats going as far back as the pioneer 717. The 868 however is greatly improved but not perfect, but almost
     
  14. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
  15. mjw1999

    mjw1999
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +16
    i first had a pioneer 737 connected to my pj through component this player was giving me a fine image.
    however i purchased a 668 and the cue problem was apparent on hdmi and component but not noticable on my 32" crt via RGB, this may have been hidden by the small screen size or maybe the problem is'nt there when connected by rgb.
    anyway a took the player back to superfi and after about 2 hours and a few calls to pioneer, pioneer accepted they had a problem wit 668's and 868's especialy when connected to large screen displays like a projector.
    hope this helps.
     
  16. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    The problem's actually there on all connection types - but Progressive Scan allows it to be shown up far easier. On my LCD TV it's horribly noticeable over Component. Turning Progressive Scan off blurs the entire picture of course, so it does smooth over the CUE. Using RBG SCART gives similar results. S-Video hides it totally, but that defeats the point doesn't it?

    I'm glad Pioneer accepted the error. I've had my 668 for awhile. I won't be buying a Pioneer DVD player again...
     
  17. ofer40

    ofer40
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there someone that have the 868 connected to projector that saw the charoma bug.
    in the store i saw the 668 on 50 plasma and i haven't noticed any charoma bug.
    i have a projector and if i will buy the 868 and take it out from the package
    i will not be able to return it in case i do see this bug.
    what should i do?
     
  18. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Don't buy it. I wouldn't be surprised if there's some other problems in there as well. I don't doubt they are based on the same parts so I'd be surprised if the 868 didn't also have the bug.

    Just watch an animated DVD. I notice the bug even on simple stuff like DVDs of Family Guy and Invader ZIM, but it was particularly irritating when I watched the Disney movie "Pocahontas". There's a scene near the end that works entirely off of blending bright red and bright blue colours together that was almost unwatchable.
     
  19. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    the cue bug on the 868i is not as horrible as you might think as it will only show up on some titles(very very few much like the denon 2900 which i think uses the same mpeg decoder). Most films are fine. I owned the 868i and my projector is the Sim2 300xtra-H. Cue never realy was an issue in fact the 868i was a great dvd player for the cash when used via its hdmi output. as said it is there in some films but its few and far between. Most of the denon players have Cue but the faroudja chip does have a chroma mask so its not so noticable.(instead you have to put up with some Macroblocking).

    You are going to be hard pressed to find a dvd player that gives a 100% chroma result.
    The image from the 868i is amoung the sharpest, betterd only by 2 very expensive dvd players(+£2000).
    At its price the 868i has no competition. £599 multiregion is the going price now
     
  20. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    I can't comment on the DV2750, but the DV-626 does have the bug. It's just harder to spot, because the player doesn't have any Progressive Scan capability so the image is softer. Ignoring the lack of Progressive, I agree, it produces a very good picture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...