1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cube & X.box to comp. monitor(again)

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Oddbodd, May 20, 2003.

  1. Oddbodd

    Oddbodd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sunny Tyneside :)
    Ratings:
    +51
    Sorry about the repeat post guys but I still can't find the gizmo/solution to my problem and I would appreciate your help.
    I have a spare 19" monitor which would be ideal for connecting to my console's which have been banished into my loft room/den.
    Both of them are U.K. / Pal machines and I don't really want to change them for U.S. imports(their not going to be put through a projector for the forseable future).
    I have pukka R.G.B. connectors and was hoping to find a gadget that would accept ideally both scarts and convert this decent signal to R.G.B.H.V.(comp.vga) and have audio outs aswell(don't want much do I). But I don't think such a thing exists?
    If thats a non starter my next thought was a specific s.video/audio out cables for both consoles(more cables for my collection) connected to something like Scancom's T.V.4000. The next snag is the U.K. cube won't output s.video(think the x.box does though?) accoding to various sites on the web. I think I'm right in saying the hi-def/component cables are a non starter for U.K. consoles? So thats it, nice easy one for you :rotfl:
    P.S. Maybe a job for Groundy;)
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    GC has VGA output so that should be easy just need the digital out cable try Goblin direct and Liksang. For Xbox i am not so sure but have a look at cables by monster etc they might make one also look at Dr john RGB>video converter site. a few others make these.

    Look at the Pro V+ from keene as this will let you watch TV up their as well as converting the signal ~(I think)
     
  3. Oddbodd

    Oddbodd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sunny Tyneside :)
    Ratings:
    +51
    That was quick Hornydragon! I've seen the pukka nintendo d.v. cable (lik-sang I think) but didn't realise that would work on a U.K. cube. If it does that would be ideal for the picture but what about the sound?.Should have mentioned in first post that I'm a bit of a fussy ****ard so quality followed by cost are my prioirities.:D
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Sound shill comes out the analogue socket on 2 phono's! check with someone more knowledgable than me that it will work with Pal games i think it is possible But check!
     
  5. Erpland

    Erpland
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Nintendo DV cable has a Unique plug on the end only for Japanese Plasma screens(it looks the same as our DVI but its not), you will probably have to cut the plug off and get an expert to wire it up for Digital on UK displays.

    Does anyone know for sure if the PAL cube really outputs digital though?

    I would get a US cube and a modified VGA cable, by the time you've read all the discussions and done the research you will owe yourself a lot of time. Either that or invest in a specialist Scart RGB - VGA converter, then you can use it on your old and future consoles.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Goblin sell the cable can be used for prog scan and other stuff
    £100+ for a VGA box you could get a JS RGB>VGA then you only need a rgb switch.
     
  7. brattle

    brattle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +0
    The GC VGA lead sold by Goblin and others is a modified D-Sub lead that does indeed output VGA.

    However, it only works with games that support progressive scan, which means that PAL games won't work.

    Reagrding the XBox, there were some VGA boxes flaoting around a while ago, even for PAL, but these were difficult to gfet hold of and they didn't work with every game. The situation may have changed now though.
     
  8. jian

    jian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    2,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +77
    try www.play-asia.com, they have one for £30 and is compaitible with all the major consolde. Component and composite inputs only.
     
  9. Erpland

    Erpland
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The original poster wants a decent signal, those multi purpose VGA boxes are usually an inferior signal, many people have been dissapointed with them. However a proffesional VGA convertor is very expensive (but not out of the reach of projector owners).
    For the Gamecube the best bet is a USA console and modified Digital cable.
     
  10. Oddbodd

    Oddbodd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sunny Tyneside :)
    Ratings:
    +51
    Thanks for the input guys. I've just spotted these:-
    http://www.avtoolbox.com/hg-series.htm
    They look quite good for the price, the only drawback I can see is there's no optical out on the x.box model for hooking up to your amp. :(
    I'm not sure what kind of sound quality you would get from there output?
    Cheers Oddbodd
     
  11. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,523
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,007
    mate, listen to Erpland..the units that did the rounds from the lieks of Redant etc were pretty dire when it came to quality. The generally came out very washed out and had pretty dire geometry (and I've seen them all).
    The ones you're looking at would probably be the same things, different supplier. Afterall all major consoles now (not DC of course) dont have native support for VGA and as such the isgnal simply isn't there. To get a signal up-converted (or whatever you want to call it) cost money. You do get what you pay for.

    Not wanting to put a dampner on things mate but wouldn;t want to see you blow your money for a pants picture..:)
     
  12. Oddbodd

    Oddbodd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sunny Tyneside :)
    Ratings:
    +51
    Good enough for me Steve, thanks for the honest opinion. So it's a big :thumbsdow for those gadgets, well back to the drawing board.:smoke:
    Cheers Oddbodd
     
  13. Erpland

    Erpland
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oddbodd here's a review of a professional upscan converter sold at NCS, the only catch is that it needs Japanese Scart leads and not European ones and it costs over $200, you could rewire your scarts or get some imported from lik-sang etc.
    You could then have a nice little gaming setup with the extra clarity of a monitor which will support future machines.

    http://www.tiptonium.com/videogames/reviews/other/XRGB2.htm

    Personally I would sell the spare 19" monitor and put the money towards a new TV with Scart RGB and then get an Argos Scart splitter(supports RGB) for £10.

    The cost comparisons will be similar but surely a TV will be more useful.

    I've always wanted a dedicated gaming corner or den, and ultimately a 21" monitor for the Dreamcast and PC with an up scan converter for the older and future machines would suit me fine until a Plasma screen or Projector comes a long (just like that yeah right).

    But I am never able to warrant the cost of the up scan converter, sometimes I give myself a headache with ideas scenarios etc but a new cheapish TV always ends up the more sensible choice for a den.
    What annoys me is that I have more PC monitors in the house than TV's and only Sega did the decent thing and allowed me to use them, lets here it for Sega........


    :clap:
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Why not get a JS RGB to VGA converter. expensive but very good and then you will already have one when plasma time comes around.
     
  15. Erpland

    Erpland
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hornydragon, I wasn't trying to sell the XRGB2 just thought it was a good example with a review, personally I'm still thinking about the perfect setup with spending to much money.
    I sold my best monitor to get an LCD but then backed out and got a cheap new 17" to give me more time to weigh up the options, later the new 17" can go in my daughters bedroom to replace the very old 14" in there then she can use my spare Dreamcast on it, our TV doesnt have a Scart socket, only Component and S-video(AUS model), so I've ordered an S-video switch box for all my old consoles and the Gamecube is done through Component, I've just built an AV rack for all the consoles and eventually I think this setup will go in the den and then have a new TV for the living room.
    If I had more time for gaming I'd have got a US Gamecube with modded VGA lead and then got a 21" monitor to use with the Dreamcast as well.
     
  16. Oddbodd

    Oddbodd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sunny Tyneside :)
    Ratings:
    +51
    Thanks guys for all your input, I might just take your advice Erpland and just get a TV that accepts RGB. I think for the moment it's the best picture and value for money I'm going to find. I've been wanting to upgrade my main TV for some time now but having read the posts about some of the large widescreen sets (and projectors) people are having problems with it looks an absolute nightmare. If Loewe made a flatscreen version of there 40" TV now that I would be interested in (bank manager groveling time). Then I could move my old (but still good) 25" Sony into my den :D
    Cheers Oddbodd.
     
  17. Erpland

    Erpland
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    not wanting to spend your money for you oddbodd, but there is a post on another forum for an ex £2000 36" Panasonic for £868 +delivery.
    check dixons and you'll still see it at £1600 today.
    this set is progressive scan also.

    model TX36PL30 at empiredirect.co.uk
     
  18. Oddbodd

    Oddbodd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sunny Tyneside :)
    Ratings:
    +51
    It's a bit rich for me at the minute mate but thanks for the thought. It's £999.00 at Empire direct.
    Cheers Oddbodd
     

Share This Page

Loading...